problems with pitch in live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ionic
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Contact:

problems with pitch in live

Post by ionic » Mon Sep 20, 2010 5:28 pm

so sometimes my synths will just all go outta tune when i have pitch bend automation. its really annoying. pretty sure it has to do with a the pitch wheel. anyone else have this problem? maybe a solution?

0fps
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Athens

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by 0fps » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:33 pm

Hardware synths? Works fine for me with usb and MIDI connected synths. Could u be more specific?
Live 8 Suite, MacPro@2.66 Quad/4G RAM,MacBook@2.00 DualCore/2G RAM, Motu Traveler, TC Powercore, Korg MS200R, Waldorf Blofeld, Akai APC 40, M-Audio Axiom25, Motu Digital Performer

Image

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by leedsquietman » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:43 pm

Whatchoo talking 'bout Willis ?

Which synths are you referring to ??
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

ionic
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by ionic » Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:51 am

VSTs. specifically symptohm. also has happened with analog, collision, and others directly in ableton.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by leedsquietman » Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:34 am

Odd. I have symptohm, analog/suite instruments (live devices are not vsts), and plenty other vsts and don't have an issue with them ...
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

ionic
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by ionic » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:12 pm

im pretty sure it has something to do with the pitch wheel automation. still no solution tho. any ideas?

ionic
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by ionic » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:21 pm

im pretty sure it has something to do with the pitch wheel automation. still no solution tho. any ideas?

Dubhole
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by Dubhole » Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:29 pm

I'm facing the same problem, I've got pitchbend going on in the clips, so not in the arrangement, and Yes I duplicate those clips over time, but it is as if Ableton doesn't reset after the last clip with pitchbend on it has ended and the next clip without pitchbend is playing. So therefore my synths will be out of tune, quite sure it's a bug as I've checked everything, very annoying !

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by agent314 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:09 pm

so sometimes my synths will just all go outta tune when i have pitch bend automation. its really annoying. pretty sure it has to do with a the pitch wheel. anyone else have this problem? maybe a solution?
it is as if Ableton doesn't reset after the last clip with pitchbend on it has ended and the next clip without pitchbend is playing
This is exactly what's happening. If a clip ends with non-zero pitch bend automation info, the track retains that level of bend until it encounters PB automation again. I've found it seems to happen if you have a note bent in a clip and then shorten the clip so that the last PB breakpoints are cut off.

The solution I've found is to add a single breakpoint of value 0 right at the beginning and/or end of MIDI clips to in effect reset the PB to normal.

LakesideWiseman
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:16 am

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by LakesideWiseman » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:26 pm

Having the same issue. Sometimes pitch bend automations continue even in clips that doesn't have any automations, and other times it will ignore the automation completely...

Doesn't seem to be a work around...?

Angstrom
Posts: 14645
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: problems with pitch in live

Post by Angstrom » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:35 pm

LakesideWiseman wrote:Having the same issue. Sometimes pitch bend automations continue even in clips that doesn't have any automations, and other times it will completely ignore the automation completely...

Doesn't seem to be a work around...?
the workaround is in the post above yours.

essentially you need to make any clip that has pitchbend info in it end with a pitchbend=0, otherwise any clips following will assume that you are holding the pb at whatever level it was left at.
Image

Post Reply