Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Dhji
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am

Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Dhji » Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:51 pm

I wanted a quick recording to try something out so I recorded it on my iphone, but when I dragged it into Ableton, I noticed the quality had diminished! After some research I figured out that it needed to be converted to .WAV or .AIFF, so that brings me to my next question... Why doesn't Ableton play ALL files full resolution? Please pardon my ignorance it just seems like an odd little detail that would make my workflow much better if I didn't have to go through converting a file everytime I wanted to try something!

Cheers

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1504
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by [jur] » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:07 pm

I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?
Ableton Forum Moderator

Dhji
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Dhji » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:14 pm

[jur] wrote:I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?
It's an encoding problem.

Dhji
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Dhji » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:38 pm

[jur] wrote:I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?
Heres what I experienced before converting to WAV:

I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes. Tried turning off/on HiQ/Ram. Tried changing the sample rate/buffer size. Tried changing/matching the tempo to the recording. Nothing. It still sounds jittery/fluttery (listen below to what I mean. I exported the way the recording sounds inside ableton and then uploaded the original recording of what it sounds like outside ableton. I am using OSX/Macbook Pro/(2.8GHz i7 Quadcore, 16GB RAM/1600MHz)

Inside Ableton: https://soundcloud.com/dhji/inside-ableton

Outside Ableton: https://soundcloud.com/dhji/outside-ableton
Last edited by Dhji on Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

jestermgee
Posts: 3127
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by jestermgee » Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:09 pm

You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.

Dhji
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Dhji » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:30 am

jestermgee wrote:You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.
Jesus did you even read what I wrote?

"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"

Anyway thanks I corrected it

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1504
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by [jur] » Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:46 am

No need to scream!!
thx
Ableton Forum Moderator

Da hand
Posts: 1603
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Da hand » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:47 pm

Dhji wrote:I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes. Tried turning off/on HiQ/Ram. Tried changing the sample rate/buffer size. Tried changing/matching the tempo to the recording. Nothing.
So the example "Inside Ableton" is which of these scenarios exactly?

Da hand
Posts: 1603
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Da hand » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:58 pm

Dhji wrote:
jestermgee wrote:You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.
Jesus did you even read what I wrote?

"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"

Anyway thanks I corrected it
Lol, I love it when people get all "huffy and puffy" and then their own response is a fail. Dhiji did you even read your own "response" ? You have at east 7 possible scenarios in your "answer" above. You never mentioned which of these 7 scenarios above (or the extra others you tried) you posted as an example and it does sound like it is the one with warp on.

jestermgee
Posts: 3127
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by jestermgee » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:20 pm

Dhji wrote:Jesus did you even read what I wrote?
I think you are confused there son, my name is Jestermgee (or IRL Jason) not Jesus but I can understand how you may have gotten confused.
Dhji wrote:"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"
Ah, see I needed it to be point 200+ for these old eyes to understand what you were saying. Your issue is now as clear as day.

Don't do this:
"turning off/on warp"
do this
"turning off warp"
Turning off warp mode then on again as you said so clearly won't do much. you need to turn it off and leave it off.

At least that's all cleared up now. Problem solved.

Dhji
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Dhji » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:45 am

[jur] wrote:No need to scream!!
thx
Just being helpful by making it bigger for those who can't seem to read ;)

The rest of you... SMH :roll:

stringtapper
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by stringtapper » Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:51 am

Wait, does the OP think that converting an .m4a file to a .wav will increase the quality?

:?

8O
Unsound Designer

Tarekith
Posts: 17240
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:21 am

Let's just leave it and not get too heated about it.

Da hand
Posts: 1603
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?

Post by Da hand » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:14 am

Dhji wrote:
[jur] wrote:No need to scream!!
thx
Just being helpful by making it bigger for those who can't seem to read ;)

The rest of you... SMH :roll:
Dhji please try to comprehend what I wrote in my question.... and maybe answer it? It is the only way forward really, if you are actually looking for any help and not just trolling.

Post Reply