All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:51 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am
Posts: 60
I wanted a quick recording to try something out so I recorded it on my iphone, but when I dragged it into Ableton, I noticed the quality had diminished! After some research I figured out that it needed to be converted to .WAV or .AIFF, so that brings me to my next question... Why doesn't Ableton play ALL files full resolution? Please pardon my ignorance it just seems like an odd little detail that would make my workflow much better if I didn't have to go through converting a file everytime I wanted to try something!

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:07 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1236
Location: Ableton
I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:14 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am
Posts: 60
[jur] wrote:
I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?


It's an encoding problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:38 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am
Posts: 60
[jur] wrote:
I'm pretty sure your issue is simply about warping...
Btw, is really M4A about "quality"?


Heres what I experienced before converting to WAV:

I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes. Tried turning off/on HiQ/Ram. Tried changing the sample rate/buffer size. Tried changing/matching the tempo to the recording. Nothing. It still sounds jittery/fluttery (listen below to what I mean. I exported the way the recording sounds inside ableton and then uploaded the original recording of what it sounds like outside ableton. I am using OSX/Macbook Pro/(2.8GHz i7 Quadcore, 16GB RAM/1600MHz)

Inside Ableton: https://soundcloud.com/dhji/inside-ableton

Outside Ableton: https://soundcloud.com/dhji/outside-ableton


Last edited by Dhji on Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:09 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 2973
You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.

_________________
Freelance SoundLabs
Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:30 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am
Posts: 60
jestermgee wrote:
You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.


Jesus did you even read what I wrote?

"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"

Anyway thanks I corrected it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:46 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 1236
Location: Ableton
No need to scream!!
thx

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:47 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Montreal, Canada
Dhji wrote:
I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes. Tried turning off/on HiQ/Ram. Tried changing the sample rate/buffer size. Tried changing/matching the tempo to the recording. Nothing.


So the example "Inside Ableton" is which of these scenarios exactly?

_________________
Soundcloud|YouTube|FB Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:58 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Montreal, Canada
Dhji wrote:
jestermgee wrote:
You have your examples labelled wrong. I can hear the warp. As mentioned, switch warp off.


Jesus did you even read what I wrote?

"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"

Anyway thanks I corrected it


Lol, I love it when people get all "huffy and puffy" and then their own response is a fail. Dhiji did you even read your own "response" ? You have at east 7 possible scenarios in your "answer" above. You never mentioned which of these 7 scenarios above (or the extra others you tried) you posted as an example and it does sound like it is the one with warp on.

_________________
Soundcloud|YouTube|FB Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:20 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 2973
Dhji wrote:
Jesus did you even read what I wrote?


I think you are confused there son, my name is Jestermgee (or IRL Jason) not Jesus but I can understand how you may have gotten confused.

Dhji wrote:
"I tried turning off/on warp and cycled through all the modes"


Ah, see I needed it to be point 200+ for these old eyes to understand what you were saying. Your issue is now as clear as day.

Don't do this:

Quote:
"turning off/on warp"


do this

Quote:
"turning off warp"


Turning off warp mode then on again as you said so clearly won't do much. you need to turn it off and leave it off.

At least that's all cleared up now. Problem solved.

_________________
Freelance SoundLabs
Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:45 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:27 am
Posts: 60
[jur] wrote:
No need to scream!!
thx


Just being helpful by making it bigger for those who can't seem to read ;)

The rest of you... SMH :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:51 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm
Posts: 6249
Wait, does the OP think that converting an .m4a file to a .wav will increase the quality?

:?

8O

_________________
Unsound Designer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:21 am 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 17190
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Let's just leave it and not get too heated about it.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why Doesn't Ableton Play .M4A In Full Quality?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:14 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Posts: 1570
Location: Montreal, Canada
Dhji wrote:
[jur] wrote:
No need to scream!!
thx


Just being helpful by making it bigger for those who can't seem to read ;)

The rest of you... SMH :roll:


Dhji please try to comprehend what I wrote in my question.... and maybe answer it? It is the only way forward really, if you are actually looking for any help and not just trolling.

_________________
Soundcloud|YouTube|FB Page


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group