Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by Logeek » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:27 am

Apc 20 or 40? It seems that the only difference is in space and size. Is there something I'm missing? What do you think?
Other question is, should I wait until the holidays to buy? Any new stuff on the horizon from Akai/Ableton?
Thanks,Logeek
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

flippo
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:06 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by flippo » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:25 am

Logeek wrote:Apc 20 or 40? It seems that the only difference is in space and size.

You're half right; they are different in size, but not space.

Apart from the size, they are absolutely identical, particularly in regards to space.

I'm not sure about time, though; I think maybe one of them is a few seconds longer?


also the APC40 has a bit more warmth but the APC20 has more presence.

jtdj
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:37 am
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by jtdj » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:31 am

flippo wrote:
Logeek wrote:Apc 20 or 40? It seems that the only difference is in space and size.



also the APC40 has a bit more warmth but the APC20 has more presence.

is that a joke?

33tetragammon
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:34 pm
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by 33tetragammon » Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:27 am

flippo wrote:
Logeek wrote:Apc 20 or 40? It seems that the only difference is in space and size.

You're half right; they are different in size, but not space.

Apart from the size, they are absolutely identical, particularly in regards to space.

I'm not sure about time, though; I think maybe one of them is a few seconds longer?


also the APC40 has a bit more warmth but the APC20 has more presence.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: LMFAO!!!!

could that have something to do with the now infamous Henke Brown dither?(ask 3phase)
maybe Poop Smear can clarify the brown part of the equation.......

4.....

3.....

2.....

1........

gavgrant
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by gavgrant » Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:03 pm

I pondered over this question only just a few months ago as well and finally decided on the APC40....

Really happy of the choice i made (was also looking into the launchpad & remote zero set up)

I use the rotary's extensively so the "shift" function/idea to use effects on the apc20 does not seem ideal.......

g.
MacBook Pro 8GB RAM (2011), Presonus Firebox, Remote 49 SL Compact, APC40
LIVE Suite 8.3

divonic
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:40 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by divonic » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:17 pm

The APC20 Is basically the left side of the APC40; look closer at the pictures

neyko
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:22 pm

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by neyko » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:19 pm

I bought the APC 20 and took it back for the APC 40. I find that I always regret when I try to save a few bucks.
Live 8 Suite iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 2GB RAM & Macbook - 4gig RAM - Snow Leopard OS X - 2.4 Ghz - Apogee Duet - M-Audio Oxygen 49 - M-Audio 88es - Akai APC 40, Focusrite Saffire Firewire

Captain Johnson
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:03 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by Captain Johnson » Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:04 pm

APC40 is pretty awesome! Check out the python scripts from Hanz!! you can do loads with it!!! :wink:

Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?: ..... Thanks

Post by Logeek » Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:23 am

"Its about time, its about space, its a story 'bout the human race.... (up a 1/2 step) Its about time......." Probably waaaaay too cryptic a reference, but I do appreciate the humor. Thanks for the help and
( what were you NOT smokin' Sir?).
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

gavgrant
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by gavgrant » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:49 am

Captain Johnson wrote:APC40 is pretty awesome! Check out the python scripts from Hanz!! you can do loads with it!!! :wink:
Python scripts from Hanz?????
MacBook Pro 8GB RAM (2011), Presonus Firebox, Remote 49 SL Compact, APC40
LIVE Suite 8.3

Captain Johnson
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:03 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by Captain Johnson » Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:01 pm

gavgrant wrote:
Captain Johnson wrote:APC40 is pretty awesome! Check out the python scripts from Hanz!! you can do loads with it!!! :wink:
Python scripts from Hanz?????
http://remotescripts.blogspot.com/

Check the links on the right of that page boy boy!!! :wink:

Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by Zeddy » Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:59 pm

Go for the APC40. Missing on the the Device Control knobs on the APC20 would be unenjoyable for me. I find they are the best part of the entire APC40

flippo
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:06 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?: ..... Thanks

Post by flippo » Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:43 am

Logeek wrote:"Its about time, its about space, its a story 'bout the human race.... (up a 1/2 step) Its about time......." Probably waaaaay too cryptic a reference, but I do appreciate the humor. Thanks for the help and
( what were you NOT smokin' Sir?).
hehe, I actually haven't smoked for about 12 months :oops:


Go with the 40 imo.

Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40? Thanks again!

Post by Logeek » Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:27 am

Thanks again for the feedback. So after all that, I upgraded to live suite and I bought me-self "The Great Destroyer" (serious fuzz/starve/distortion stomp box) by Dwarfcraft. APC40 is next, then a really awesome drum machine... then...& then.................. getting the jones for hardware... Though if I'm honest, I'm only just becoming reasonably conversant in "Ableton-speak"; gear fever is a real phenome 12 steps for gear OBSESSION?
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

gavgrant
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Akai apc 20 or apc 40?

Post by gavgrant » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:58 pm

Captain Johnson wrote:
gavgrant wrote:
Captain Johnson wrote:APC40 is pretty awesome! Check out the python scripts from Hanz!! you can do loads with it!!! :wink:
Python scripts from Hanz?????
http://remotescripts.blogspot.com/

Check the links on the right of that page boy boy!!! :wink:

cheers Captain! :D
MacBook Pro 8GB RAM (2011), Presonus Firebox, Remote 49 SL Compact, APC40
LIVE Suite 8.3

Post Reply