ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 and 9 (and Live 7 too)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by JuanSOLO » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:58 pm

NICE!!!

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by regretfullySaid » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:07 pm

Big update; thanks for your continued work on this!
ImageImage

h3rtz
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Beijing

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by h3rtz » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:57 am

i am sorry if this has been answered before but - does clyphX work with the new live 8 64bit beta?

wascal
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 3:14 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by wascal » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:03 pm

I've only been using ClyphX for a week since upgrading to Live 8 and I can't thank you enough for making it - its pretty much removed any obstacles I had when it came to playing live the way I wanted to. Looking forward to trying out the latest version tonight :D
TTKK / NOODLES / iANDALE! / TIGERBEAT6 / HOT & HEAVY etc
http://www.soundcloud.com/wascal

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by Meef Chaloin » Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:53 pm

Is there a way to launch clips by name? I can't find anything in the manual about it.

gragsta
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:22 pm

SysEx Dump ?

Post by gragsta » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:06 pm

Hi Stray,

my first post in here.

I found Clyphx whilst searching for a way to send a sysex dump out of live.
Hope this topic wasn´t started elsewhere :roll:
For now it is possible to send sysex-parameters with a Macrobat-rack.
But a dump is not a parameter, as far as I understand...

Could it be possible to add this feature to Clyphx/Macrobat? Or is it already possible, and I missed a part in the documentation?

The most comfortable way would be an X-Clip (ok, thats not Macrobat, but maybe there is a way?).
With this, one could create a clip, that when played adjusts almost all parameters for a new part in a live set, including external synths... *priceless*

I am sure that I am not the only one who would love this feature 8)

Or maybe there is already a way to send a sysex dump out of live? Anyone?

Cheers, and thanks for Clyphx - its awesome!
Greg


gragsta
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:22 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by gragsta » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:46 am

stoersignal wrote:live.api don`t accepts sysex
But how is it then possible to send a SysEx parameter via Macrobat?

stoersignal
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: vienna

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by stoersignal » Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:02 pm

gragsta wrote:
stoersignal wrote:live.api don`t accepts sysex
But how is it then possible to send a SysEx parameter via Macrobat?
good question :roll:

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by regretfullySaid » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:04 pm

I don't think it uses the live.api; it goes around it by using python?...
FYI the source code to the scripts is provided with Clyphx, so you can read and modify them.
For sysex, theres the Midi script and the User script (in context to Macrobat)

I think it has something to do with the 'p' condition:
for p in rack.parameters:
if p.is_enabled:
name = self._parent.get_name(p.name)
...
else:
sysex_entry = self.check_sysex_list(name)
if sysex_entry and not p.value_has_listener(self.do_sysex):
self._macro_to_sysex.append((p, sysex_entry, -1, rack))
p.add_value_listener(self.do_sysex)
but I dunno I'm just learning this stuff to make my own midi scripts so I'm curious to know what that's about.
ImageImage

ljd2002
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by ljd2002 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:40 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:Is there a way to launch clips by name? I can't find anything in the manual about it.
Was this ever resolved ? just downloaded ClyphX and trying it out now.
Also, can we play clips from a different scene to the one holding the "trigger" clip.
But a great bit of software so far.

infernal.machine
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by infernal.machine » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:12 am

You cannot launch clips by name.

ljd2002
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by ljd2002 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:34 am

Ok, but can you configure, for example, clip 1 - 1 to play 3 - 3 ? Anyone know ?
I know you can do 3/ Play. But this is just for clips on the same scene.

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by regretfullySaid » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:06 am

To what I said before, knowing a little more about scripting, it can use the Live api, but anyway,

That's kind of confusing, because when you say 1-1, I think of Track 1 - Scene 1 to play Track 3 - Scene 3, which should be possible, but then you say just for clips on same scene and you can't have more than 1 clip playing on the same scene.

Otherwise if you wanted 1-1 to play 3-3 it would be the clip on 1-1 would say [] 3/play 3
ImageImage

ljd2002
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: ClyphX – Utility script for Live 8 (and Live 7 too)

Post by ljd2002 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:35 am

Perfect shadx312 - thanks very much.

Post Reply