noob questions

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ianf39
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:59 pm

noob questions

Post by ianf39 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:28 pm

I've looked around quite a bit and can't seem to find some straight forward answers so I figured I'd just bite the bullet and ask people who know what they're doing... I'm brand new to Live and looking into the functionality of the Akai controllers and the Novation Launchpad and I realize these questions may be totally simple but please bear with me. What I want to know is, do these controllers play audio and midi clips or just midi? And, is it possible to have say the Launchpad plugged in USB on bus power and a Firewire interface (Echo AudioFire 4) plugged in on bus power at the same time feeding into Live? Are there problems that arise from using more than one bus powered piece of equipment at once? (I have a 15" MBP Core 2 Duo, 4gb RAM, not sure but i think 2.5Ghz)

What I would ultimately like to do is record a dozen or so guitar clips in Live through the audio interface - tweak them in Live- and then play those clips from a Launchpad or APC. Or for live performance application play some guitar samples into Live and make a loop which I can than immediately trigger with the Launchpad? Is this possible? And if so can I also add a drum rack to the Launchpad to play over the looping audio clips? And supposing all this works, can I have the audio routed to come out of my inteface to my monitors?

Thanks for reading, any help would be greatly appreciated.

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: noob questions

Post by outershpongolia » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:44 pm

I'm pretty sure you can do all of that.. it's not always as straight forward as it seems, but then it's not always as complicated as it seems either..

ianf39
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: noob questions

Post by ianf39 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:09 pm

cool, if it can be done i'll figure it out. thanks for the quick response

myxomat0515
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 3:31 am
Location: Florida

Re: noob questions

Post by myxomat0515 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:36 pm

Yes, all of this can be done. Both will launch MIDI and audio clips. I would avoid connecting your interface through a bus if possible, but if you don't have a choice I'm sure it will still work. I'm not familiar with that interface. You can easily launch clips and control a drum rack just using the basic user modes of the launchpad, but the drum rack pads are not velocity sensitive, so don't expect much expression. That can be compensated for in the drum rack controls though.
And supposing all this works, can I have the audio routed to come out of my inteface to my monitors?
Yes? 8O

ShelLuser
Posts: 4030
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: noob questions

Post by ShelLuser » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:35 pm

ianf39 wrote:What I want to know is, do these controllers play audio and midi clips or just midi?
There controllers can launch clips, but don't differentiate to the kind of clip. So its merely clip launching, and yes; obviously that includes everything Ableton Live can handle; so audio and midi.
And, is it possible to have say the Launchpad plugged in USB on bus power and a Firewire interface (Echo AudioFire 4) plugged in on bus power at the same time feeding into Live? Are there problems that arise from using more than one bus powered piece of equipment at once? (I have a 15" MBP Core 2 Duo, 4gb RAM, not sure but i think 2.5Ghz)
Depends on the computer and the way its setup. Under normal circumstances it shouldn't be a problem, but personally I'd get myself a powered USB hub just to make sure to avoid any issues.
What I would ultimately like to do is record a dozen or so guitar clips in Live through the audio interface - tweak them in Live- and then play those clips from a Launchpad or APC. Or for live performance application play some guitar samples into Live and make a loop which I can than immediately trigger with the Launchpad? Is this possible?
Sure, quite easily done as well.

Then again; a bit depends on your definition of tweaking. Live can't edit audio data, but applying filters, cropping, etc. is all easily done. And well, if you wish to do more with the data itself you can always resort to grabbing stuff like Audacity.


As to the rest of your questions; yeah. Live is perfectly capable of handling all that. You may need to spend some time on the manual to check up on how stuff works, but in the end Live is more than capable of all this.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

ianf39
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: noob questions

Post by ianf39 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:38 am

Excellent! thank you for the responses ShelLuser and myxomat0515. The more I learn about Live the more it sounds like the biggest limitations are what you bring to it. The AudioFire does have a wall wart so i'll just suck it up and use that to make sure there aren't any issues.

The only problem is figuring out which controller to get :D

Post Reply