Switching from Acid 5.0 to Live 4.0 Tryout

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Zacchino

Switching from Acid 5.0 to Live 4.0 Tryout

Post by Zacchino » Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:57 am

Hi all,

If you guys are interrested in a "Acid vs. Ableton" battle, well, this is not the right subject. Slightly different though. Please read the post till the end, and you'll get a picture of my issue :D

I've been using Acid for more than 3 years now (since 2.0, now working under the latest 5.0).

As I do not have the time to switch sequencers, I'm going from forums to forum to look foward and tryout some other sequencer.

Ok, here's the deal :

I LOVE Acid Pro. But I miss one point : multitrack sequencing. I do not have the time to wait for the 6.0 release and see that they still don't want to include this important feature (In my Objective opinion ^^). So that's why I'm looking over "ACID Like" softwares.
As I was raised with Acid, learning curve and frustations of "missing Acid's Logic/workflow" will be difficult for all software I'm testing (I'm downloading the Live4Demo at the time this post is written).

The PC-only sequencer poll I'm testing can't be objectivly compared :
Acid Pro 5.0 / Sonar 4 Studio / (and now) Live 4.

Important note : I'm not using Acid Pro 5.0 as a Loop sequencer, but as a VSTi Host / Samples "Zoom-based" Editor / A-to-Z project builder.

The lack of Acid : Complex Song arrangement (and not remix, I'm not a Dj). IE : VSTi Automation = Forget about it. Mix Automation = Don't even think about it. Group tool (as in Reason, and now as a pattern-sequencer in Cubase SX) = they did not even thought about this one.

The magic of Acid : MS Windows' style logical workflow (drag & drom, copy & paste, mousewheel zoom control, etc...). Intuitivity in drawing and Synchronisation of samples (with their great Grid-based main window and midi sequencer).

Now my question is (to you, the hardcore users of Live) : how will Live 4 fullfill my wishes listed up there ?