Would I need a turntable for anything other than scratching?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Mixikyr

Would I need a turntable for anything other than scratching?

Post by Mixikyr » Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:41 am

Deleted post.
Last edited by Mixikyr on Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

STRATEGY_510

Re: Would I need a turntable for anything other than scratching?

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:29 am

Mixikyr wrote:Just a question, i'm still relatively new to all these. Is it okay for somebody to deliver a live performance like a DJ without a turntable? I always see a CDJ set at least in Ableton DJs performances, why is that? Aside from scratching what use is there for a turntable with Ableton, like if it's electronic music?
For some people, it's easier/better to spontaneously fly a phrase of music into a set manually and spontaneously via TT or CDJ, than it is to spontaneously import something into the Live library and warp, then fly it in.

I'm sure there's a better way to explain some other potential advantages (that don't involve scratchin'), but I'm too tired to think about it much.

STRATEGY

Koston

Post by Koston » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:21 pm

Vinyls are favored because they (potentially) deliver better audio quality than regular CDs, especially in lower frequencies which are all-important in electronic music.

That said, you can throw a decent gig with *any* equipment whatsoever as long as you keep your audience entertained with track selections, smooth transitions and educated EQ'ing. Heck, a lot of technoheads would be satisfied if you premixed a set and played it off an ipod and just jump around the DJ booth looking like you're actually doing something intelligent.. :wink:

Trypset

Post by Trypset » Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:17 pm

Personally I would rather see a DJ carry a crate of wax and spin vinyl...