What is your latency??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
went to the gypsy
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:10 pm

What is your latency??

Post by went to the gypsy » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:14 pm

I'm curious what latency figures you all are working with. I know this is subject to a whole gamut a variables, but what figure have you settled with.

I'm shooting Live through a dual 1.8 G5 with a Live buffer size of 512 samples at 48,0000 hz sample rate and I'm at 22 ms. My bottleneck, I believe, is an M-Audio Delta-44 PCI card.

Thanks!

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:28 pm

well i can't measure my "actual" latency
but Live tells me that with the ASIO4ALLv2 driver i'm easily able to get 5ms @ 48khz. Buffer is @ 256 samples

EDIT: this is Stock HP Soundmax hardware.
Last edited by AdamJay on Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

went to the gypsy
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:10 pm

Post by went to the gypsy » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:30 pm

Damn! That's sweet!

kovacs
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Harlan's World

Re: What is your latency??

Post by kovacs » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:43 pm

went to the gypsy wrote:I'm shooting Live through a dual 1.8 G5 with a Live buffer size of 512 samples at 48,0000 hz sample rate and I'm at 22 ms. My bottleneck, I believe, is an M-Audio Delta-44 PCI card.
Why 48K?

Anyway, I also use 256 samples and get a 5ms latency (at 44,1khz), with an Audiophile 2496 PCI card on an Athlon XP 3200+. Would think your card should be better.
2011 MacBook Pro 13" 10.9 // Live 9 Suite // Ernie Ball Music Man Silhouette

Komplex
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:27 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by Komplex » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:47 pm

I can't hear or notice any latency when triggering stuff. But ofcourse when triggering stuff on external kit and then recording that into live as audio, I get a tiny bit of latency that needs to be corrected. ;)

went to the gypsy
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:10 pm

Post by went to the gypsy » Sun Jan 09, 2005 12:02 am

Right. I lowered the buffer to 256 and I'm at 10 ms. I'll run that for a while--see how things go.

Thanks!

spaceman
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:31 pm

Post by spaceman » Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:10 am

4ms but that costs too much cpu
so I use 10ms

on a 1212M, 1G 400Ram, P4 3.2

detroitechno
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: detroit

Post by detroitechno » Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:43 am

1ms in 1ms out...
128 buffer @ 96k
digi002 rack
athlon64 3000+

system runs without a hiccup... with TONS of cpu head room...
A bunch of gear, cords, and a computer...

Spacerboy
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:35 am

Post by Spacerboy » Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:47 am

1ms in 1ms out...?

is that really necessary?

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:11 am

went to the gypsy wrote:Damn! That's sweet!
AdamJay is referrring to either input *or* output buffer when he says 5ms. 256 would give you 10ms if you're counting total buffer time (5ms in + 5ms out). The manufacturer soundcard you use doesn't dertmine the latency, only how much CPU is used to achieve that latency.

If you're routing outboard gear through the computer (software monitoring) to use Live's effects in real time then you should run 256 or 128 otherwise your delay is too noticable.

I use an outboard digital mixer for all my outboard gear and my reference monitors are connected to that. The digital mixer is also equipped with a Firewire audio interface. This way I can play outboard, software, and record to the computer with 0 latency monitoring yet still use effects like EQ, compression, reverb, delay, and so on.
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

Emissary
Posts: 2431
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:27 am

Post by Emissary » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:24 am

3ms and lower with my hammerfall pci card, and not even a slight change in cpu or a glitch . Rme are gods

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:37 am

Emissary wrote:3ms and lower with my hammerfall pci card, and not even a slight change in cpu or a glitch . Rme are gods
Funny you should mention this. I notice in Live that the CPU meter barely changed whether I am using a 512 buffer or 64 buffer. Yet any other app I use the CPU meter changes. The trade off is that Live's CPU at 512 buffer is like Logic at 64 buffer. But if I change Live to 64 buffer there is almost no change in CPU. It's like there is something internally using CPU to support realitime audio. I also tested this on my PC with N-Track and have the same results using an Echo Indigo.
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

Komplex
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:27 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by Komplex » Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Spacerboy wrote:1ms in 1ms out...?

is that really necessary?
zero latency would be best.

ditroiamusic
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:43 pm

Please help....UA20

Post by ditroiamusic » Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:17 pm

Hello. I have a Edirol Ua20. I used to have no problems at all with it until I reinstalled windows. If I set the buffer to a usable setting, Live works fine but then playing mp3s (in winamp,etc.) is choppy as hell. I can't seem to get them both working smoothly at the same time like I used to. Are there any settings I'm missing. Here are my specs


Pent 4 2.8 with 512Ram (ddr)
Edirol Ua-20 (newest drivers)
Live 4.1
Thanks in advance.

Vercengetorex
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:38 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Contact:

Post by Vercengetorex » Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:50 am

PowerBook G4 1GHz, MOTU 828 MkII -> 3ms overall latency (1.5 in / 1.5 out) 48kHz, 24bit, 12 channels in, 14 channels out always active.
I cant think of a sig

Post Reply