512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
TheDrop2
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:34 pm

512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by TheDrop2 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:55 am

I am thinking about trading my 27'iMac i5 for a 15.4' macbook pro i5 but my only issue is that the processor on the macbook pro is a little slower then the iMac and the graphics card is a 512 mb instead of my iMacs 1gb... I love to use plugins and sometimes i get to a point where have have 20+ 3rd party plugins in a single live project. I also do some serious vocal recording into live... Would the macbook pro having 512 mb ram for its graphics card have that big of an effect??

what about 256 mb??

Thank you!!

MPGK
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:57 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by MPGK » Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:55 am

512 MB of RAM are plenty to display a few sprites... never had a problem with graphics on my Macbook Pro, which has an onboard chip with 512 MB.

mattadms
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:43 am

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by mattadms » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:14 pm

Doesnt matter. You can also open 1000 Plugins on 64MB VRAM... :)

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by Pasha » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:59 pm

Overkill! 8)
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

TheDrop2
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by TheDrop2 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:15 pm

REALLY?!!?! Graphics card has nothing at all to do with music production at all? :) :)

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by beats me » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:44 pm

It's not possible to do music on a MBP. Nobody is using one.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by H20nly » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:55 pm

I doubt you need more than 16MB to run Live... but 64 should be fine. Your plugins might have some outlandish requirements depending upon the manufacturer, but even those shouldn't need much - if they do need more than 512 I say you hit delete and find something better. its music software not the latest first person shooter.
LoopStationZebra wrote:it's like a hipster commie pinko manifesto. Rambling. Angry. Nearly divorced from all reality; yet strangely compelling with a ring of truth.

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by LeifonMars » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:19 pm

beats me wrote:It's not possible to do music on a MBP. Nobody is using one.
Yep, we are only checking our emails.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by hacktheplanet » Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:30 pm

My 2009 13" MBP only has 256 megs of vram. Live won't even run on it. :(




This is a complete fabrication. Live runs great.
Image

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: 512 mb dedicated ram for graphics card enough for Live?

Post by LeifonMars » Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:23 pm

the_planet wrote:My 2009 13" MBP only has 256 megs of vram. Live won't even run on it. :(




This is a complete fabrication. Live runs great.
But can you check your emails at the same time?
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Post Reply