Ableton and Korg MS-20

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
wbatts20
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:54 am

Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by wbatts20 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:01 am

I was watching and interview with Soulwax talking about their live set-up, specifically sequencing the Korg MS-20. My question is how would you go about / what equipment would you need in order to sequence the MS-20 through Live via midi? I understand the basics of sending and receiving midi through usb, but how do you send the information into an old analog synth?

Sorry if this is an amateur question, and hopefully its not a waste of time, but I'm very curious to understand how this works.

Any help is much appreciated!
Many thanks!

abluesky
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:08 pm

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by abluesky » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:14 am

Midi CV converter.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by Poster » Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:00 am

wbatts20 wrote:but how do you send the information into an old analog synth?
The signal gets converted with a MIDI>CV converter, from MIDI to electricity..
Older analog synths have 2 types of control signal inputs: Gate, for note on/off and CV, for pitch..

Previously I used a Doepfer MCV4 to play my MS20..
http://www.doepfer.de/mcv4.htm

I now use a Kenton USB Solo..
http://www.kentonuk.com/products/items/ ... solo.shtml

chapelier fou
Posts: 5146
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:25 am

Kenton's converter are more expensive. But really powerful. For instance, i got some synth wich would need some calibration. Within the Kenton converter you can virtualy do this.
I got a pro 2000 and i can sequence and synchronize 5 synths...
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Hervé
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:13 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by Hervé » Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:39 am

Also Volta from motu do the job.
http://www.motu.com/products/software/volta

grnr
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by grnr » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:10 am

also expert sleepers silent way : http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/silentway.html

can send cv/gate signals from your soundcard. it only works by default with soundcards with DC coupled outputs (MOTU and one or two others) but with a wee bit of soldering up of magic cables it can work with non-DC coupled cards too. i've got it 75% working with my ms10, just need that final push to get the gate working, which i believe is down to adding a resistor to one of the cables.

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by rabouille » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:01 am

if someone could post the exact way to plug and set up ms-20 with volta or silent way, and to get it working in few steps without issues, that would be fantastic...Couldn't find a lot of detailed infos about that on the web...

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by Poster » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:28 am

rabouille wrote:if someone could post the exact way to plug and set up ms-20 with volta or silent way, and to get it working in few steps without issues, that would be fantastic...Couldn't find a lot of detailed infos about that on the web...
you better first find out how much volt the output of your audio card has..
my MOTU UltraLite for instance only goes to I believe max 3,4 volt, while a lot of the MS20 parameters need +5 volt, so you won't reach the full range of control..

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by rabouille » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:02 pm

Poster wrote:
rabouille wrote:if someone could post the exact way to plug and set up ms-20 with volta or silent way, and to get it working in few steps without issues, that would be fantastic...Couldn't find a lot of detailed infos about that on the web...
you better first find out how much volt the output of your audio card has..
my MOTU UltraLite for instance only goes to I believe max 3,4 volt, while a lot of the MS20 parameters need +5 volt, so you won't reach the full range of control..
I own motu Ultralite too....:( should work with volta though

the only detailed description i could get on a forum was that:

http://www.vintagesynth.com/forum/viewt ... 3&start=30
"it works with the second, adjustable vco in (total in or vco freq in). volta has no s-trigger so u'll have to use volta EGs for amp & filter (the ESP of the ms can convert a v-trigger into a s-trigger, but only into s-trigger not "s-gate"). the knob to adjust the cv in (mg/t.ext or eg/ext) has to be all the way up to 10 to get a working calibration. while calibration, one has to open up the amp with the modwheel to ensure feedback to volta (unfortunately the ms have no osc outs). it's a bit tricky, but i got it working when i tried it, and it's a lot of fun to have velocity / aftertouch / stepsequencer with the ms. "

but wasn't able to get it working with volta, calibration failed every time i tried....

grnr
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by grnr » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:25 pm

Poster wrote:
rabouille wrote:if someone could post the exact way to plug and set up ms-20 with volta or silent way, and to get it working in few steps without issues, that would be fantastic...Couldn't find a lot of detailed infos about that on the web...
you better first find out how much volt the output of your audio card has..
my MOTU UltraLite for instance only goes to I believe max 3,4 volt, while a lot of the MS20 parameters need +5 volt, so you won't reach the full range of control..
check out this thread:

http://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewto ... 1c3a3368d7

there's a voltage doubler circuit that's easy to build that should help you get more pitch range etc. i've got pitch working nicely over about 5 octaves* using a presonus firebox, just haven't quite got the gate working right.

for gate to S-trig conversion, i've been pointed to this:

http://www.doepfer.de/faq/gen_faq.htm#S-Trig

i haven't tried this yet, but it may be the answer!


* i'm using the FREQ IN on the MS10 for the pitch CV, which is Octave/Volt, rather than the VCO CV IN, which is Hz/Volt - it gets me a better pitch range. not sure what the options are on the MS20, but Silent Way can send both Oct/V and Hz/V.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Ableton and Korg MS-20

Post by Poster » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:38 pm

^ I use a Kenton..

Post Reply