Page 1 of 1

Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:50 am
by BoxDJ
Hey everyone, my computer will only have about 25GB of space left on my 5400 RPM HDD after I get Komplete 7 on Christmas and when I run Ableton I use about 1.5 out of my 2GB of DDR3 ram. My computer hiccups when I running intensive apps like CS5 and Ableton.

I'm not much of a computer expert but which should I go about upgrading first?

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:51 am
by Tarekith
RAM.

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 7:18 am
by davepermen
both... :)

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:07 am
by ollyb303
Definitely RAM. But also bear in mind you should try to keep 25% headroom on your HDD.

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:06 am
by ShelLuser
And another one here; you'd want to focus on RAM first. It may even save you somewhat on diskspace too (minimal though) because your OS will have less need to swap out.

Depending on your workflow you should have no issues with 25Gb free space.

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:30 am
by davepermen
in case of planing to replace the disk (for space + for speed) might i suggest you to get a momentus xt? it's a mixed ssd/hdd combination, boosting snappiness of a system quite a bit without being ssd-expensive in price.

but yeah, ram first.

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:10 pm
by carrieres
you need 33% free hard disk space and if you don't have a 64 bit OS with a 64 bit host, more than 4 Go of ram will not be useful
using a 1.5 out of 2 GB is not a problem
memory problem would be induced by using more memory than the amount of physical RAM, it is called paging
your hiccup can come from your hard disk or from your cpu
what is your audio buffer ?
look what other people use here http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=111880

Re: Upgrade HDD or ram first?

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:22 am
by hacktheplanet
davepermen wrote:both... :)
Ya, both. Heh. For around $150 total you can do a pretty serious upgrade of both your HD and RAM.