if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Tone Deft
Posts: 23648
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:39 am

me, working 12 hour days so I can take next week off, quickly read your post, thought it was a bit odd. I'm also drained from spending too much time at work.

quandary has a similar issue, new machine, bad news. his is similar to my machine. my only problems have been a crash after moving a track in arrange view and somehow I got a clip that I couldn't zoom in on. other than that I generally put the PC into sleep mode all day, wake it up when I get home, the Launch Pad and APC40 wake up with it, I play and do it all over again.

something goofy happened at Ableton, maybe too many projects at once, we can only blindly (and rampantly) speculate. time will tell if they learned a lesson.

best of luck!
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Lazos » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:33 am

beats me wrote:
Lazos wrote: Bring us surround panning (especially for LIVE performance) :!:
:?:

As a lot of venues run a mono sound system how is this important?

Are you performing background music for corporate PowerPoint presentations at movie theaters?
I'm surprised you'd say that. You haven't noticed the number of threads debating the surround issue in Live? Right, of course all Live users only ever play in electronic dance music clubs with mono systems :x And of course surround sound only ever occurs in movie theatres. Oops my bad :roll: :wink:

Yes. L9 better be bad ass, in more ways than just one.

kb420
Posts: 2740
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by kb420 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:51 am

Lazos wrote:Yes. L9 better be bad ass, in more ways than just one.
All I ask of L9 is that it's stable upon release. L8 was a train wreck that continues to be updated because of how buggy the original release was. I can understand a bug fix here or there, but L8 was unacceptable.
H20nly wrote:fuck Bitwig.

kb420
Posts: 2740
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by kb420 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:52 am

(double post)
H20nly wrote:fuck Bitwig.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by leedsquietman » Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:37 am

A lot of machines won't easily upgrade to 64 bit and will have many driver issues, so for many, upgrading to 64 bit means buying a new computer which is hella expensive.

There are also tons of incompatibilities with plugins in 64 bit. Natively coded plugins in 64 bit work better, but are immature and often with a lot of bugs which need ironing out. Many plugins, including big hitters like Waves, UAD and more are still only 32 bit and have no immediate plans to go 64 bit - so you'll need bitbridging and that can be dodgy.

On paper it all seems simple - 64 bit, more memory access, better experience - but from people running 64 bit daws already like sonar, cubase, reaper and logic, there are a LOT of glitches still. After Live 8, the last thing people will want is a bugfest 64 bit version of Live 9. So it's difficult for Ableton but let's keep the faith.

Remember - Digital Performer, Protools and Samplitude/Sequoia's most recent releases are still 32 bit only.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Machinesworking » Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:47 am

Lazos wrote: I'm surprised you'd say that. You haven't noticed the number of threads debating the surround issue in Live? Right, of course all Live users only ever play in electronic dance music clubs with mono systems :x And of course surround sound only ever occurs in movie theatres. Oops my bad :roll: :wink:
Honestly, I can't think of single club or even larger venue in Seattle that has surround. Mostly all clubs are mono for a reason, if someone's on the right side of the stage in a crowded hall, all they're going to hear is a right side mix. I doubt any of that is different for a city half the size of Seattle like Portland. At the very most you might get stereo, and yes, surround is relegated to theaters.

As far as recording for film, I hear you, but in the live music realm you're pretty far off base.

Willyum
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 6:17 am
Location: Jamaica, Queens

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Willyum » Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:00 am

They told us time stretch for simpler/sampler was on the to-do list YEARS ago in one of the post on this forum.... If it's not in 9...

As of right now half of the synths (that I like), are coming from other apps, as well as some of my favorite fx. Don't get me wrong, Live is still my #1 go-to DAW... But too many of these other companies are going hard with new innovative tools and really full, warm sounding libraries.

I like to tweak my sampled/found sounds, and a big part that I miss from that is a smooth time stretch in my instrument.

I need to feel like ableton is back on the ball, like the company I first fell in love with.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Khazul » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:12 am

Machinesworking wrote:Honestly, I can't think of single club or even larger venue in Seattle that has surround.
From the last time I was in Seatle, I would be hard pressed to think of a club full stop - at least one that actually plays house :p
Nothing to see here - move along!

looprication
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by looprication » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:36 am

UncleAge wrote:Lack of 64bit compatibility is not a deal breaker for me.
Lack of stability is a deal breaker for me.
Yup.

64-bit is a huge pain in the ass, and will continue to be so until everything is 64-bit.

Give me stability with Live or give me Reason+Record.

Cheers,

-ix
My site
Studio: WinXP SP3 / Intel Core i7 860 / Gigabyte P55 series MoBo / 8 Gb ram
Mobile: MacBook Pro 15"
Echo Audiofire8 / Roland A-37 / Oxygen 8 v2 / UC-33e / padKONTROL / MidiSport 4x4
Live 8 / NI Komplete 7 / Reason 5 / Record

wehkah
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by wehkah » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:49 am

Live 9 disscussions are soo otiosely, let the abes keep making Live better but no stress. A company is not a wishing well. Live 8 is fine and i like the concept of stability improvements. And please disscuss similar stuff in the feature whishlist forum.

thx a lot
T
Motto: sharing knowledge...

https://soundcloud.com/bytechop

Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Machinesworking » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:15 am

Khazul wrote:
Machinesworking wrote:Honestly, I can't think of single club or even larger venue in Seattle that has surround.
From the last time I was in Seatle, I would be hard pressed to think of a club full stop - at least one that actually plays house :p
That's probably because House is about the most boring form of mindless dance music besides Goa and Trance. Did I mention my distaste for four on the floor dance beats? because I probably should before you think there's any room for debate here. :P

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Khazul » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:51 am

Machinesworking wrote:
Khazul wrote:
Machinesworking wrote:Honestly, I can't think of single club or even larger venue in Seattle that has surround.
From the last time I was in Seatle, I would be hard pressed to think of a club full stop - at least one that actually plays house :p
That's probably because House is about the most boring form of mindless dance music besides Goa and Trance. Did I mention my distaste for four on the floor dance beats? because I probably should before you think there's any room for debate here. :P
LOL - times like these when its nice to have 4800 miles between us :)

Joking aside, I very nearly took a job there, but in the end just couldnt stand the idea of being so far away from everything, the real clincher however was the complete crap being played in most places - especially round pioneer square 8O
Nothing to see here - move along!

Hoffoman
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Hoffoman » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:00 pm

I really hope they don't implement 64 bit yet as it would almost certainly lead to yet more instability. I couldn't care less about surround sound.

Things I would like to see:

1. session automation
2. m4L run-time
3. Render to mp3
4. convolution reverb
5. time-stretch in Sampler
6. Clip based midi effects (i.e. a transpose knob like we have for audio, plus note-length modification, etc)
7. Bezier curves
8. Dual monitor support
9. The ability to select non contiguous clips in arrange
10 The ability to sync to computers running Live together
11. Pitch correction plug-in.
12. OSC support
13. A really good step sequencer.
14. Lot's of small work flow improvements and UI enhancements
15. Global LFO's
16. Comping
17. A v.a. modeled drum synth

CFM
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by CFM » Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:53 pm

Bring us surround panning (especially for LIVE performance) - nice feature for the "Minority %" who will use it. Film,video and game work is can see why you would want it. Playing live in a club? Most of the time for me good old L/R if fine.

I don't see Live 9 coming out for some time. I think Ableton have a lot of programming ahead of them to catch up the competition.

Tarekith
Posts: 17411
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: if live 9 is not 64-bit...

Post by Tarekith » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:02 pm

Khazul wrote:From the last time I was in Seatle, I would be hard pressed to think of a club full stop - at least one that actually plays house :p
LOL, well said man, well said.

Post Reply