midikatapult java set up probz

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
andy c
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:27 am
Location: uk
Contact:

midikatapult java set up probz

Post by andy c » Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:15 pm

Help please I am trying to get katapult to work on OSX I have managed to get every thing in place but the thing will only load in 64 bit mode which is very unstable at the moment. I have got to my Java settings and set the order to go 32 bit first then 64 bit which I was lead to believe would open katapult in 32 bit but for some reason it still loads in 64 and crashes within a minuet or so. Any ideas as to where to go next? Shame as this could be a very very slick piece of software that would enhance what you can do with the Live/Launchpad combo without M4L. For the record I have latest drivers OSX updates which includes Java.

Ta v much,
Andy

Mister36
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by Mister36 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:25 pm

Unfortunately, I can't help you with your troubles.

But I do have a question for you... What does Katapult do that can't be done with Automap Pro?

andy c
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:27 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by andy c » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:04 pm

Tell you the truth I am not to familiar with automap pro I have it as I bought to Novation controllers when they where doing the free upgrade. So could be automap does this as well but katapult is sort of lemur (ish) in that you have a set of Controller types


-Hold buttons


-Toggle buttons


-Horizontal/vertical faders


-Horizontal/vertical sliders


-Indicator LEDs


-2D Pads


-Meters


-Progress bars


-Note output


-CC output


-Drumracks


-Keyboard macros


can handel 16 pages or setups, bi-directional communication and you can set it to run on one of the user 1 or user 2 buttons on the launchpad. This way you still have all the normal functions of the launchpad when used with live and all the extra stuff on one of the users. I think it has the makings of being a killer app just a few things to iron out, I would hate to see it fail now it has shown folks what is possible. Anyway enough mussing have a look at http://www.midikatapult.com/Katapult/Home.html for the full low down.

Mister36
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by Mister36 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:24 pm

Thanks for copying and pasting the features page. :P

I had actually looked at that. I try not to ask blind questions. Especially on forums.

So does this program/app set up those kinds of pages for you? Like it has templates for each of those kinds of controllers in the context of a Launchpad?

It seems to me that you can do all of that with Automap Pro. Not sure though. And maybe not the meters and progress bars... Anyway, I just thought I'd ask because the site doesn't seem to be that explicit about what it can do and in what way it is different/better than otehr options.

andy c
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:27 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by andy c » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:55 pm

Sorry I was not sure how far you had got looking at it aired on the safe side. To program it you use a text based system, initially this filled me with dread but in practice it is quite simple to do.

The good news is I have found out the Java solution....

in finder do a 'get info' over the app and one of the options is open in 32 bit simple when you know how :roll:

Not sure yet if I would trust it live yet got some work to do on that front.

Thanks for looking in on this though things like this drive me to despair sometimes.

Mister36
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by Mister36 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:12 pm

I know what you mean. I'm the same.

Post back here when you've used it for a bit and report what it does specifically, how it does it and how well it does it. And anything else you want to comment on.

andy c
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:27 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by andy c » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:27 pm

Will do mate.

gncgry
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:37 am

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by gncgry » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:31 pm

Automap is all RED with the Launchpad. that's the most stupid thing about it.
gear: Live + 10 fingers.

Listen: goodgame

blooddcell
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:49 pm

Re: midikatapult java set up probz

Post by blooddcell » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:07 am

ive used it in live doesnt seem very stable toggling between modes.
also, ive created a facebook page since the creator has been "MIA:.
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/MidiKa ... 4703936781

Post Reply