Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
hussey
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:50 pm

Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by hussey » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:46 pm

I was hoping to get a decent mixer soon and I just wanted to ask a pretty simple question. Is it difficult to assign ableton to each channel on the mixer e.g. drums on one channel, pads on the other, bass on the other etc... Is it difficult to integrate with a soundcard, the mixer that is. How is it connected up? Behringer seem to do pretty solid mixers for a decent price. Thank you.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by UKRuss » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:51 pm

You need a multi in and out interface so that you can route the interface to the computer and route individual tracks out to the interface on separate outs, which are then routed to the mixer and the mixer stereo outs are routed back to the interface.

Easy set up really, but in all honesty if the mixer is an analogue device it would have to be pretty top notch for you to get any real benefit out of doing it other wise its just degrading your pristine signal.

Have you thought about a combined interface/mixer type unit instead to keep it all digital?

Or a separate interface and an APC for faderwork.

hussey
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by hussey » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:28 pm

Thanks for the reply. I guess I never thought about the quality of the signal. I'm really just looking for something that will provide faderwork. What is an APC?

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by ark » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:31 pm

hussey wrote:Is it difficult to assign ableton to each channel on the mixer e.g. drums on one channel, pads on the other, bass on the other etc... Is it difficult to integrate with a soundcard, the mixer that is.
From your questions, I have an uncomfortable feeling that you do not quite understand how a mixer works.

A mixer is a device with a bunch of audio inputs and a smaller number of audio outputs, along with controls to combine those inputs into those outputs.

Here's my question: How are you imagining you would integrate this device with Live? What do you expect to happen when you move the mixer's controls?

hussey
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by hussey » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:42 pm

So a mixer is more orientated towards controlling hardware such as guitar, synth etc...? I was hoping to control the levels of tracks physically, rather than using the mouse.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by Khazul » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:44 pm

Perhaps get a mixer type control surface?
Nothing to see here - move along!

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by ark » Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:00 pm

hussey wrote:So a mixer is more orientated towards controlling hardware such as guitar, synth etc...? I was hoping to control the levels of tracks physically, rather than using the mouse.
No, a mixer doesn't control hardware; it combines the audio coming from hardware.

If you want physical controls for the levels of your tracks within Live, you are looking not for a mixer but for what is called a "control surface." There are lots of these around.

To find out more about control surfaces, launch Live and select Help -> Help View. Then scroll down to the bottom of the panel that appears and select "Control Surface Reference Lesson." There you will find a list of all the control surfaces that Live will support with no additional effort on your part. Click any of them and it will tell you in more detail about Live's support for that device.

My personal favorite is the Akai APC40, which can be had in the USA for less than $300 including shipping. Your mileage may vary.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by UKRuss » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:01 pm

hussey wrote:Thanks for the reply. I guess I never thought about the quality of the signal. I'm really just looking for something that will provide faderwork. What is an APC?
APC40

Ableton Live specific hardware controller, does what it says on the tin. Gives you the fader control and transport buttons and effect and device control etc.

nice bit o'kit.

necho
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: (y)UK

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by necho » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:08 pm

UKRuss wrote:
hussey wrote:Thanks for the reply. I guess I never thought about the quality of the signal. I'm really just looking for something that will provide faderwork. What is an APC?
APC40

Ableton Live specific hardware controller, does what it says on the tin. Gives you the fader control and transport buttons and effect and device control etc.

nice bit o'kit.
I'd go for the APC60 though :wink:
_________
sigs suck.

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by ark » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:13 pm

necho wrote:I'd go for the APC60 though :wink:
You mean this?

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by UKRuss » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:46 am

or that yeah. :D

seattletruth
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:20 am

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by seattletruth » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:11 am

Axiom 49s and 61s have 9 faders and a bunch of knobs that are programmable to live. Plus drum pads.

Sounds like thats what your looking for.

hussey
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by hussey » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:22 pm

ark wrote:
hussey wrote:So a mixer is more orientated towards controlling hardware such as guitar, synth etc...? I was hoping to control the levels of tracks physically, rather than using the mouse.
No, a mixer doesn't control hardware; it combines the audio coming from hardware.

If you want physical controls for the levels of your tracks within Live, you are looking not for a mixer but for what is called a "control surface." There are lots of these around.

To find out more about control surfaces, launch Live and select Help -> Help View. Then scroll down to the bottom of the panel that appears and select "Control Surface Reference Lesson." There you will find a list of all the control surfaces that Live will support with no additional effort on your part. Click any of them and it will tell you in more detail about Live's support for that device.

My personal favorite is the Akai APC40, which can be had in the USA for less than $300 including shipping. Your mileage may vary.

Sorry I wrote this wrong, I meant to say that the audio from a hardware device is controlled via a mixer. I just wanted to show you this, ark. It's a video of Paul Kalkbrenner in Berlin Calling. It seems he's using a hardware mixer with Live running for his live setup. How is he controlling audio from Live? Or am I wrong and it's actually a control surface?

http://www.ableton.com/movies?type=arti ... utostart=y

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by ark » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:30 pm

hussey wrote: Sorry I wrote this wrong, I meant to say that the audio from a hardware device is controlled via a mixer. I just wanted to show you this, ark. It's a video of Paul Kalkbrenner in Berlin Calling. It seems he's using a hardware mixer with Live running for his live setup.
I can't find any place in this video where I can get a clear look at what he's using or how. Can you point me somewhere?

hussey
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Noob mixer question (not dj mixer)

Post by hussey » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:39 pm

http://www.tranceaddict.com/forums/show ... did=525835

Found this. Seems he's using a midi controller with a mixer.

Post Reply