Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
marra
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:08 pm

Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Post by marra » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:16 pm

Hi!

All my VSTs work in XP. Almost none worked in Vista. Will they work on Win7?

Many thanks!

twisted-space
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: UK Midlands

Re: Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Post by twisted-space » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:21 pm

They should do, but there again they should have worked in vista as well.

andydes
Posts: 2917
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Bremen

Re: Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Post by andydes » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:25 pm

I've not had a problem with Zebra, ACE, Uhbik or any of the free one I have on 7 once installed. Had to do a bit of messing around with permissions in various directories to get some of them installed and recognised by Ableton though.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Post by Khazul » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:43 pm

Depends what you are using.
All the commercial supported VSTs I have (NI, Camel Audio, Spectrasonics, D16, AR, etc for example) work fine on both XP and win7/64 with latest versions of them.
Nothing to see here - move along!

marra
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Will my VSTs work in Win7?

Post by marra » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:44 pm

Cool, thanks a lot guys!

Post Reply