Korg MS20 VST skipping the first note on Program Change

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Korg MS20 VST skipping the first note on Program Change

Post by SBRK » Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:08 pm

I've had that problem for quite a while now...
Sometimes, when I have a Korg MS20 (or any other vst from the Korg Legacy Collection) when I'm playing a clip on that ms20, and then launch another clip on that same ms20, but with a program change, the first note is mute. It's quite annoying, since I have a track where I whange 6 times the program. The track consist of 2 MS20 racked, playing at the same time.

Any idea/solution ?

savyurrecords
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Korg MS20 VST skipping the first note on Program Change

Post by savyurrecords » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:26 pm

Yeah I haven't done that in a while but I never could get reliable program changes using automation within clips. It would work for the most part, but not perfectly. I ended up using a separate track for each sound.

One workaround I used was triggering the program changes with a secondary MIDI track.

A second workaround would be taking the first note of each clip and slightly pushing it to the right to delay it (just a few milliseconds). Of course turn off the grid before you do this.

Rich

SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Korg MS20 VST skipping the first note on Program Change

Post by SBRK » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:16 pm

savyurrecords wrote:Yeah I haven't done that in a while but I never could get reliable program changes using automation within clips. It would work for the most part, but not perfectly. I ended up using a separate track for each sound.

One workaround I used was triggering the program changes with a secondary MIDI track.

A second workaround would be taking the first note of each clip and slightly pushing it to the right to delay it (just a few milliseconds). Of course turn off the grid before you do this.

Rich
I think I'm going to delay the clip start and compensate with the track delay...

Post Reply