MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ed Lektron
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:04 pm

MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by Ed Lektron » Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:31 pm

I just bought Komplete 7 for use with Ableton but I'm pretty disappointed with the the number of concurrent NI plugs I can use. 4+ instances of Massive / Guitar Rig / Kontakt etc. introduces crackling and sluggish performance, even though CPU meter only reads 70% or so. Never had issues with CPU before, even with large projects.

Do other MBP owners experience this? Any tips (apart from freezing) to increase performance? Have tried increasing buffer size to no avail.

My laptop is a 2.6Ghz Unibody MBP with 4gigs of RAM. Audio 8 DJ soundcard.

Rabalder
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by Rabalder » Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:02 pm

In my previous setup I used 9 NI plugs. Only kore and reaktor.. Cpu never over 60.
No audio problems.
(13" MBP 4Gb ram)

gosinisha
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:24 pm
Location: on the rolling mill

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by gosinisha » Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:45 pm

here runs 2,2ghz c2d pc about 15-20 heavy vst channels with filters and stuff without problem. probably you do not need better, waste of money...
thinkpadT520/win7.64/studioONE2/firefaceUC/akaiMPKmini/VSTinstruments/sampleCDs

necho
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: (y)UK

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by necho » Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:52 pm

Live isn't very efficient when handling VSTs. You'll get better performance out of other hosts.
_________
sigs suck.

Rabalder
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by Rabalder » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:04 pm

necho wrote:Live isn't very efficient when handling VSTs. You'll get better performance out of other hosts.
I got a reply from ableton after sending in a ton of bugreports one day.. "NI plugs are causing your crashes.." This was before 8.2.1. Lately I havnt had any problems..

xzusa8ky
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by xzusa8ky » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:18 pm

1000! any higher? :lol:
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro

Cezband
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: MacbookPro Core 2 Duo - How many NI plugs can YOU run?

Post by Cezband » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:30 pm

I've got a 2ghz 4gbram laptop running vista (boooooo)...I never run more than one instance of Guitar Rig at a time. That thing is waaay too hungry, if it didn't sound so good I'd get rid of it entirely.
Live 7.0.18 | Axiom 61 | Launchpad | Homous | Nanokontrol | Saffire 6 | Ibanez Jazzmaster Bass | Biscuits
Soundcloud (solo stuff) | One Gear Go (my band)

Post Reply