Different drum rack settings for each scene

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Scottspur
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:42 am

Different drum rack settings for each scene

Post by Scottspur » Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:20 pm

Hi, I use Live for backing tracks, click and samples for a live show for a rock band (www.hotspurmusic.com). I am trying to set up different drum rack configurations for each scene. Each scene is a different song, and I want to play different samples depending on what song I am on. I am triggering samples using a roland SPD-S.

Sorry if this has already been answered, but it has been a difficult thing to search for. My searches haven't turned up much...Thanks!

-Scott

milesahead
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: züri

Re: Different drum rack settings for each scene

Post by milesahead » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:35 pm

i don`t really get what you are asking,
but one thing first:
if you want to really use different drum racks in one track, that is not possible.
one track can only hold one instrument, if you load another one,
it`s replacing the first.
if you are able to set up different pads for each track you play, (set of 16 pads each)
you could just automate the "focus". (select another set of 16 pads to be active)
then, you can use a scene for each song.

or you set up one big drum rack including all samples you want to trigger in all songs,
and just make different midi clips.
triggering midi clip in scene one plays the samples needed for song one.


otherwise, you just create a drumrack for each song on a different track.
create the rack on track 1, create the clip in scene one,
and trigger it while playing the first song.
create a rack on track 2, scene 2, and trigger it while playing song 2.
get rid of the start buttons for the clip slots that doesn`t have a clip,
and you can trigger the scenes. - scene 1 for song 1, scene 2 for song 2.
if they get in your way, just group the tracks, to "hide" them out of the way,
that way, you could still add some more tracks to any scene.

sorry, if that is not what you mean.

Dexes
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:45 pm
Location: Vienna / AT

Re: Different drum rack settings for each scene

Post by Dexes » Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:10 pm

you could make an instrument rack containing all your drum racks and then either map the chain selector to a controller, or draw a clip envelope for it.

Image

Post Reply