Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by Surreal » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:20 am

The long and short of it is that the pads are set to send on midi channel 10 but come in as midi channel 1. not the biggest deal, except i want to have different behavior based on midi channel.

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by LeifonMars » Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:29 am

Surreal wrote:The long and short of it is that the pads are set to send on midi channel 10 but come in as midi channel 1. not the biggest deal, except i want to have different behavior based on midi channel.
I have owned 2 unit of padKontrols, and both worked just fine. No wonkiness what so ever.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by Surreal » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:31 pm

right... the padkontrol works. but, if i use it as a control surface, the track receives midi from it on channel 1...regardless.

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by LeifonMars » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:04 pm

Surreal wrote:right... the padkontrol works. but, if i use it as a control surface, the track receives midi from it on channel 1...regardless.
Well, mine didn't. And as you've already discovered, you can change the channel each pad transmits to.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by Surreal » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:09 pm

So, here is the thing. each pad is transmitting on 10. it IS transmitting on 10. right now. the TRACK RECEIVES ON CHANNEL ONE. this happens when i use the padkontrol as a control surface so that the pads map 'automatically' to drum rack.

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by LeifonMars » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:15 pm

Surreal wrote:So, here is the thing. each pad is transmitting on 10. it IS transmitting on 10. right now. the TRACK RECEIVES ON CHANNEL ONE. this happens when i use the padkontrol as a control surface so that the pads map 'automatically' to drum rack.
Haven't used mine now for long time, but never had such a trouble. What OS you're on?
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Re: Padkontrol as control surface means midi channel wonkiness?

Post by Surreal » Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:20 pm

mac os X

Post Reply