Roland MC 303

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mja
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:26 am
Location: EIRE

Roland MC 303

Post by mja » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:29 am

I was thinking about getting one.

I was looking on youtube and they look pretty cool, a nice vintage sound from them,
cheap enough too secondhand.

Anybody on hear have one ??

Are they easy to integrate with Live ??

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by PHY6 » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:09 am

Stop thinking about it, it's shit...

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by 3phase » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:20 am

vintage sound? itr is as vintage as any plug in 100% digital..wouldnt call it shit just beacuse it dont sounds so good... otherwise i would have to call other thigs shit too
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,

d-track
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by d-track » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:24 am

*-*

Cowlash
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by Cowlash » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:07 pm

d-track wrote:http://www.ladyada.net/make/x0xb0x/

um..
its a tb:)
He wants a MC303, not a TB303. They're different machines.

Synthbuilder
Posts: 497
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:42 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by Synthbuilder » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:37 pm

Standard Roland rompler sound of the mid 90s - a JV1080 sort of thing but less control over the parameters. Which isn't actually a bad thing if this what you want.

The biggest problem is that when in sound module mode - ie. external midi control - you loose all the front panel controls. This is just about bearable with a decent computer midi sequencer but Live doesn't really do the sysex thing so I would imagine the MC303 would have to stay in standalone mode.

I found midi timing to be a little off too, and it's difficult to say for sure, but I think the internal timing was sloppy too.

In the days before laptops and Reason I'd take my MC303 to play when I was away from home. These days there are other options.

MacGuffin
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: suburban nightmare
Contact:

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by MacGuffin » Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:40 pm

3phase wrote:vintage sound? itr is as vintage as any plug in 100% digital..wouldnt call it shit just beacuse it dont sounds so good... otherwise i would have to call other thigs shit too

it's worse than a V.A., it's only samples of vintage gear.
Although these days they can be bought for around 150$ used, so it could be used as an inexpensive sampled-based drum machine... but even then for a little more cash one can buy one of those korg electribes with tubes.

Tarekith
Posts: 17669
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Roland MC 303

Post by Tarekith » Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:20 pm

You'd be better off trying to find a used mc505 or one of the electribes IMO. The MC303 has limited preset editing, and the stock sounds are only so so. Pretty basic sequencer too. Was really cool at the time, but I think today most people would be disappointed with it.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

Post Reply