Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:04 pm

if so , why is operator velocity set to none , by default, come on...

i know it can be set to many other parameters, but man, its a standard thing.

Yoseph
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:44 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by Yoseph » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:23 pm

Yeah, I've experienced a couple of finicky things with the velocity settings also

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by 8O » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:37 pm

Velocity is not the same as volume exactly.

And where do you see velocity = 0 in Operator?
Image

Blomblom
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:52 am

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by Blomblom » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:11 pm

In robotics and motion planning, a velocity obstacle, commonly abbreviated VO, is the set of all velocities of a robot that will result in a collision with another robot at some moment in time, assuming that the other robot maintains its current velocity.[1] If the robot chooses a velocity inside the velocity obstacle then the two robots will eventually collide, if it chooses a velocity outside the velocity obstacle, such a collision is guaranteed not to occur.[1]
This algorithm for robot collision avoidance has been repeatedly rediscovered and published under different names: in 1989 as a maneuvering-board approach[2], in 1993 as velocity obstacles[3], in 1998 as collision cones[4], and in 2009 as forbidden velocity maps[5]. The same algorithm has been used in maritime port navigation since at least 1903[6].
The velocity obstacle for a robot A induced by a robot B may be formally written as

where A has position and radius rA, and B has position , radius rB, and velocity . The notation represents a disc with center and radius r.
Variations include common velocity obstacles (CVO),[7], finite-time-interval velocity obstacles (FVO),[8] generalized velocity obstacles (GVO),[9] hybrid reciprocal velocity obstacles (HRVO),[10] nonlinear velocity obstacles (NLVO),[11] reciprocal velocity obstacles (RVO),[12] and recursive probabilistic velocity obstacles (PVO).[13]

Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:13 pm

8O wrote:Velocity is not the same as volume exactly.

And where do you see velocity = 0 in Operator?

i never said velocity was the same as volume... i just said its a standart default in most synths samplers... its a good thing... yeah you cn change set it to affect anything but thats another story...


where do i see velocity = 0 in operator ? i also didnt say that, if you are asking where to set what to be affected by velocity, click the area where the time knob is , that will bring the gloabal settings, and there you find velocity set to none.

Blomblom
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:52 am

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by Blomblom » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:29 pm

In mathematics, operator theory is the branch of functional analysis that focuses on bounded linear operators, but which includes closed operators and nonlinear operators.
Operator theory also includes the study of algebras of operators.

Alternatively, use E.A.R.S.

henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Velocity normally controls volume, right?

Post by henke » Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:01 pm

Tweaking Knobs,
the velocity mapping you see when in the 'master' section is an addition to Operator since i think Live 7. It is there for additional routings. In FM synthesis each oscillator has its own envelope and volume settings, and there you'll also define how each oscillator reacts to velocity. I am pretty sure that at least oscillator A has a velocity setting > 0 per default. So, as a matter of fact Operator 'out of the box' should react to velocity. Did you check this before posting?

However, if you like, you can easily set up a default preset with the settings you like (right click on header: Save as default preset ), including setting Velocity -> Volume 100% in the additional mappings. But if you do so, you might want to disable velocity for each oscillator... or not, depending on what you actually want to achieve...

Schönen abend noch,
Robert

Post Reply