All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:29 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:53 pm
Posts: 900
I use some plugins such as tape emulations that simulate tape noise, but it also creates noise just when the set is open. Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:41 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 898
Use a noise gate after it or find a better plugin :?

_________________
Motif XF, Evolver, Live9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:52 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:53 pm
Posts: 900
doghouse wrote:
Use a noise gate after it or find a better plugin :?



well, the plugin is designed to emulate tape saturation and tape noise. so the plugin works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:35 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:10 pm
Posts: 837
Location: Central Coast, California
Wait, you're using a plugin whose purpose is to generate noise, but you don't want it to generate noise?

I'm not sure I follow?

If your question is "How do I make it not make noise when I have the set open but not playing" then the answer is simply "mute the track when you don't want to hear it." There are a couple of tricks you could do - for example, you could automate the track activator or the track level so that it isn't active / is at -inf dB at 1.1.1, but quickly comes back in before your recordings start. So this way, anytime the playhead is at 1.1.1 (which you can jump to by double-clicking the stop button) you shouldn't hear the plugin, even though it's processing sound.

Hope this helps!

_________________
twitter - soundcloud - ask audio/video questions


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:24 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:53 pm
Posts: 900
Warrior Bob wrote:
Wait, you're using a plugin whose purpose is to generate noise, but you don't want it to generate noise?

I'm not sure I follow?

If your question is "How do I make it not make noise when I have the set open but not playing" then the answer is simply "mute the track when you don't want to hear it." There are a couple of tricks you could do - for example, you could automate the track activator or the track level so that it isn't active / is at -inf dB at 1.1.1, but quickly comes back in before your recordings start. So this way, anytime the playhead is at 1.1.1 (which you can jump to by double-clicking the stop button) you shouldn't hear the plugin, even though it's processing sound.

Hope this helps!



yea, thats what im doing currently, just sort of a pain.

I want the sound that the plugin is effect to have noise, but I dont want noise when the sound is not playing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:55 am 

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:23 pm
Posts: 884
Location: Texas
Yep, use a gate.

What's the tape plug you're using BTW?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:53 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:53 pm
Posts: 900
DUY Dad Tape.

sounds great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:13 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Vienna / AT
You could freeze the track, then the instrument + the noise will be rendered and only sound when the track is actually playing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:24 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Posts: 3423
Location: Europe
I use the gate plug all the time for this purpose. Adjust the treshold, attack and decay. Treshold sets the decible limit as to were to cut. It can be set negative or positive. So if you set it to, say -30db negative, all sound will be cut if it reaches below -30db. You can also set the db it wil go to. Inf (infinity) is off, but you could also set it to a number, like -40db, etc. Attack adjusts how fast it will react, and decay how slow it will reset back.

I use it as a fuse sometimes. Tension can suddenly freak out with very loud audio spikes, and possibly blow your speakers. Always use a fuse on that synth!

_________________
LIVE IS A PROGRESS BAR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to get rid of the noise floor?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:30 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:16 pm
Posts: 788
gate

_________________
Random Tracks of Kindness (Fridays 7-11pm CST): http://www.mixify.com/donnie
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/donnie
Mixcloud: https://mixcloud.com/donniejackson
Bass Potion MP3 (Bass House Mix): http://bit.ly/15UeO48


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group