Ableton Audiosuite?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
afrox

Ableton Audiosuite?

Post by afrox » Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:50 am

Hello. I'm a new member of the Ableton family, I joined it about a month ago. I need some help in the "plug in" topic, let me try to explain the best I can, cause I'm new in the recording business too.

So, for example: I recorded a voice track, and I want to add an Auto-Tune FX, but not to the whole track but only to a portion of it. It's useful when the key of the song changes and I want to change the Auto-Tune key.

I remember I saw a friend working on ProTools, and the way he worked with this kind of things was "processing" a portion of the track with the Auto-Tune program, but no as a constant plug in activated in the whole song. I don't know if I made myself clear, let's say that I have a song with 10 changes of key, and recording 10 separates tracks with 10 Auto-Tune fx's, eventually will collapse my cpu.

Thanks !!!

PD: I think the ProTool's option was an AudioSuite or something like that. Is that possible on Ableton Live?

majorshake

Re: Ableton Audiosuite?

Post by majorshake » Sat Apr 30, 2011 3:19 am

you can change the automation of the effect to only turn it on in a specific moment of the song.
http://soundcloud.com/major-shake <- my music
http://welcomesound.wordpress.com <- my blog about producing music

afrox

Post by afrox » Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:06 am

Yes, I know I can turn it on or off every time I need it, but if I'm working let's say, with 12 backing vocals and 2 lead vocals, that would be 14 tracks, for one key of the song, plus 14 more tracks if I want to change the key of the song, not to mention that for this 28 tracks, there's gonna be the plug in open so.. I think there's must be a different way to work this kind of things right?

Tamar UK

Post by Tamar UK » Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:30 am