Midi Foot Controllers??

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Henry Robinett

Midi Foot Controllers??

Post by Henry Robinett » Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:45 am

Anyone use midi foot controllers? Tips and hints as to their use? I have an ancient "Midi Mitigator RFC-1" foot controller. I'm hoping this'll work. I think I need just to change scenes. Maybe some clips but as far as I can see advancing and going back to scenes.

I'm still trying to figure out how I can use Live with my band. I'm a guitarist, hence the footcontroller need. I don't want to play and have my fingers on the Powerbook. I'm hoping I can also get a pedal to trigger tempo. Maybe have two - one for me the other for the drummer. I have a little Fastlane with two ports I/O.

Is anyone using foot controllers and if so what are you using? What works? What doesn't? What problems do I have to look for over the horizon??
All the best,

Henry Robinett
Mac Pro 7,1 16 Core 160GB, MP 5,1/32 GB
Metric Halo ULN-8 3d (x6) ULN-2
DP 10, Logic, PT,Live 10, Falcon, VEP, Superior Drummer, Kontakt5, UAD-2 Solo&Duo, Millennia HV3D, Lot's 'o mics . . .

MrYellow

Post by MrYellow » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:05 am

If the footswitch only sends MIDI program change msgs then just
use "MIDI OX" or "Bome's MIDI translator" to make them into MIDI notes
or controller msgs which can be used by LIVE.

-Ben

Henry Robinett

Post by Henry Robinett » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:19 am

What's Midi Ox or Bome's Midi Translator? I'm searching for them now . . .
All the best,

Henry Robinett
DP 10, Logic, PT,Live 10, Falcon, VEP, Superior Drummer, Kontakt5, UAD-2 Solo&Duo, Millennia HV3D, Lot's 'o mics . . .

Henry Robinett

Post by Henry Robinett » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:21 am

At quick glance those look to be Windows applications. I'm on a Mac.
All the best,

Henry Robinett

AdamJay

Post by AdamJay » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:31 am

i believe Plogue Bidule will do the translation..