How do you split you're frequencies?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ill Frequencies
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:48 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by Ill Frequencies » Mon May 23, 2011 6:24 am

I have noticed people have a few different ways of splitting up their low, mid and hi frequencies. EQ3, EQ eight, multiband dynamics and I just found this video by Mr.Bill on another way of doing it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOJr_QjjFQA.

I am trying to split my bassline so I can keep the lower frequencies in mono, but I don't know which way would be the best way so that I have a nice clean band of frequencies to work with. Also do you have a specific range of frequencies that you like to work between for each band? Would the low frequencies basically be the sub bass of the track?
Any recommendations would be great! :D
Last edited by Ill Frequencies on Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

invol
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 6:47 am
Location: NYC - Williamsburg, Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by invol » Mon May 23, 2011 6:53 am

A plug-in that can sum to mono below a set Hz - e.g., http://www.sonalksis.com/stereotools.htm
MacPro DualQuad 2.8 GHz 10GB RAM OSX 10.9 • RME Fireface 800 Push Launchpad Virus TI2
Owner: Devotion - Brooklyn's only Ableton Certified Training Center
Author:The Music Producer's Survival Guide
Form Labs on SoundCloud

Simbosan
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:35 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by Simbosan » Mon May 23, 2011 9:04 am

It's not free, but Ozone4 does multiband stereo image adjustment
Ableton 9 Suite - Ozone 5
Room full of guitars!
Akai EWI USB : Loads of Sample Modeling instruments (the best ever!)
M-Audio FastTrack Pro
Turbo Nutter B*stard >>>> WINDOWS <<<< PC
Simbosan on Soundcloud

garyboozy
Posts: 2602
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by garyboozy » Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:46 pm

EQ8 in m/s mode.
set up a hi-pass on the side channel around the 100 mark, should do the trick.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by Khazul » Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:39 pm

invol wrote:A plug-in that can sum to mono below a set Hz - e.g., http://www.sonalksis.com/stereotools.htm
You mean like EQ8 in M/S mode?
Nothing to see here - move along!

Grappadura
Posts: 2105
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:57 pm

Re: How do you split you're frequencies?

Post by Grappadura » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:02 am

there u go: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=48922

watch out for henkes comment.

Post Reply