Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Post by Lazos » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:38 am

Just bought Maschine recently, and I'm contemplating laying down for Ethno Instrument. Right now, I'm preferring to run Maschine standalone and was wondering if anyone here is using Ethno Inst. successfully inside Maschine standalone. Any issues? Running great?

arafel
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Post by arafel » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:57 am

Def research Ethno inside Maschine more before purchase...

Ethno has been an issue for me since day 1. Great Sounds.. slow GUI and load times (like twice as long as Omnisphere). CPU hog too (again.. twice that of Omni).

Send a query to support at Motu specifically about the version of Ethno you are thinking about purchasing. Version 1 & 2 are different beasts.
1 is not intel or OSX 5+ compatible (Afaik). I need to use the UVI workstation (free) to access the soundbanks. Same engine as Ethno (same fx and slice capacity too). But def a workaround. just loading an instance of Ethno 1 will crash my Live.

Try the UVI workstation free to see how that works as a prelude. If it doesnt.. no way would Ethno 1 or 2 work at all.

Overall... Ethno has great sounds.. but everything else about it is debatable.
2.8ghz Quad Mac, Live 9.77, Remote25, Maschine 1, Fa-66 optical link, Samson 65a. Dog hair.. lots.

Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Post by Lazos » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:16 am

I'll definitely do so. I'm thinking of getting Ethno 2. I'll give the UVI workstation a look. Thanks for the info!

remute99
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:26 pm

Re: Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Post by remute99 » Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:36 am

Lazos wrote:I'll definitely do so. I'm thinking of getting Ethno 2. I'll give the UVI workstation a look. Thanks for the info!
Ethno World 5 would be preferable, runs in Kontakt so should have no compability problems and the sounds are amazing.

http://www.bestservice.de/detail1.asp/b ... _voices/en
Mac Pro
Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2 x 2.8 GHz
10 GB RAM
OSX 10.5.6

Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Motu's Ethno Instrument inside Maschine?

Post by Lazos » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:42 pm

Ethno World 5 is a fair bit more expensive, though, but thanks. Also, I like that Ethno Inst 2 has microtuning in Scala format, which is easily editable via text edit. Even Quantum Leap Ra or Silk doesn't have user edibility like that for its microtuning. I need to be much more specific than "Arabic 1" or "Turkish 2" :lol:

Post Reply