beat repeat

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:09 pm

How can I repeat the last 1/4 bar of every bar?

Wouldn't it need to have a -ve offset of 1/4 on a repeat frequency of 1 bar with 1/4 bar gate?

Quantize
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: London

Re: beat repeat

Post by Quantize » Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:18 pm

Hi Ian,

If you set offset to 12/16, grid to 1/4 and gate to 8/16 this will repeat the last 1/4 of the bar.

I think this is what you are aiming for? :-)

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:36 pm

what should I set interval to?
thx

drewbixcube
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:37 am

Re: beat repeat

Post by drewbixcube » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:54 pm

Interval is how often you want the repeat to happen, so it depends on what sounds good to you. If you want it to happen every bar, set it to 1 bar.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:23 pm

I know that.

Check my original question - last 1/4 of every bar.

drewbixcube
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:37 am

Re: beat repeat

Post by drewbixcube » Sat Jul 09, 2011 9:31 pm

Your first question was answered in the second post. I was answering your second question.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:06 pm

it doesn't work

mihai
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: beat repeat

Post by mihai » Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:32 pm

can't help there but reading down... :)

drewbixcube
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:37 am

Re: beat repeat

Post by drewbixcube » Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:05 am

Okay, here it is:

Interval - 1 Bar
Offset - 12/16
Gate - 4/16
Grid - 1/6 or smaller. If you go larger than 1/6 you won't get the repeat, unless you also crank up the variation.

Chance - 100% if you want it to happen all of the time. Drop it down if you want it to happen less often.

Hope this helps.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:21 am

I get it but that won't repeat the last 1/4 of the first bar.

Hermanus
Posts: 1658
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: beat repeat

Post by Hermanus » Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:42 am

if you want an effective beat repeat [which repeat same part everytime], go with automation in clip enveloppe window.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:33 am

But you need to do that for every clip which is very tedious.

Quantize
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: London

Re: beat repeat

Post by Quantize » Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:36 am

Hi Ian,

The interval of 1 bar is correct. Do you have the beat repeat set to ins mode? I'm just wondering if you have it in mix mode and the audio output isn't quite what you expect. The settings previously posted should repeat the last quarter of a bar.

Perhaps you can post a screen capture of your beat repeat?

Thanks

Keith

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:01 pm

I think the problem is that I had the beat repeat on/off assigned to a midi controller and you actually have to push button before the start of the bar.

Otherwise it does the bar after the first.

Is it possible to change this behaviour so that it always plays in the current zone of interest?

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: beat repeat

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:05 pm

This works - just keep beat repeat switched on all the time in mix mode and assign the volume of beat repeat to a knob.

Then you don't have to wait for it to catch up.

Clunky.

Post Reply