Page 1 of 1

Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:55 am
by karlbergenator
i hope i can make this clear, heres an example.

if i have 3 soft synths (predator, sylenth and M1 for example) . say they all play the same midi notes but on their 3 different tracks. i group all 3 tracks and treat them as one sound. NOW the combined sound is what i like and would like to use as ONE preset next time i open up a session. is there a way of combining and controling all 3 synths together acting as one????

love. j

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:18 am
by UnCL0NED
Just drag the group you just created into your instruments library and save it as an instrument rack and give it some cool name. Next time you open a new session and you need this combined synth, just double click it or drag it onto an empty miditrack...

If you want it every time you start a new project, you can save it in your template, so it will appear when you start it up.

To control it as 1 synth, you can map certain parameters to macrocontrols in the same group! But I recommend you read the manual on this...

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:33 pm
by JuanSOLO
There is also ClyphX, and maybe you could look into Kore, even though it is discontinued.

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:37 am
by karlbergenator
ok im not sure if you understood me correct. im talking about 3 different tracks with different synths all being able to be played as one. sorry.

i want to be able to control all 3 synths at same time with so ig i play a G on my midi keyboard it will play a G on all 3 synths (on all 3 tracks) at the same time. preferably also writing midi on all 3 tracks at same time if i was to record and play...

i guess the easiste way to do this would be to be able to put 3 synths on the same midi track and play them all together btu as far as i know you cant do that in ableton right???

j

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:01 am
by BlackMath
Open a blank instrument rack
Drag synth into chain area and create a chain for each one
Rename and save the rack

You will have a rack where all 3 synths can be played with one midi track

or you could just change the input of each synth track to receive the same midi track

Re: Save several VST instruments as ONE ableton preset???

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:04 am
by dna598
instrument rack + rtfm