You just stay home and play synthesizers

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
GDOGG

You just stay home and play synthesizers

Post by GDOGG » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:30 pm

Looking around at maybe buying my first synthesizer and just wondered if anyone had any suggestions. Complete beginner at this and want something thats easy to get to grips with, not going to break the bank but still puts out some quality sounds. Love getting to grips with new tech and experimenting so some new expressive hardware would be ideal. Just get the feeling that they offer something better.

Thoughts?
http://soundcloud.com/jgrrr
For the gearslutz:13.5 Macbook Pro, Ableton Live, Behringer DDM4000, Allen & Heath Xone K2 x 2, Novation Launchpad, Akai LPD8, KRK Rokit 5s, M-Audio Firewire, Vestax VCM 600, Alesis Q49 Keyboard, Sennheiser HD205s

dancing Ray

Re: You just stay home and play synthesizers

Post by dancing Ray » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:49 pm

Budget?
Spiralgroove wrote:a little quantization never hurt nobody

Angstrom

Post by Angstrom » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:49 pm

well it depends on your budget and preferences really.
What do you value? Are your preference in "quality sounds" those with a pure-analogue signal path such as a vintage MiniMoog, or might they be the semi-vintage digital era pad sounds of a Korg Wavestation ? Or some modern workstation

Do you like patching cables into a variety of knobby looking sources to see what happens, or do you like pressing 'next preset' and being amazed at the wall of sound which emits.

hard to say without an idea of preference.

JuanSOLO

Post by JuanSOLO » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:39 pm

I just ordered a Moog Slim Phatty, cant wait till it arrives!

The DSI desktop Mopho caught my eyes too. My suggestion would be go to Vintage Synth Explorer and watch a shit ton of videos and read the comments. Lot's of info over there.

ARDJ

Post by ARDJ » Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:45 pm