All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Spectrum/EQ/Low-end problems - am I a dummy?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:08 am 

Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:57 am
Posts: 331
noland wrote:
You don't have to get another filter tool. Theres an easy way to handle this in ableton.

HP/LP Total Kill Rack (in 60 seconds)

- take an eq8, set filter 1 to hp and filter 4 to lp
- Duplicate this one with Ctrl+D several times (5 or 6 should do)
- Select them all and group them
- map the freq controls of each filter 1 to macro 1 of the rack and do the freq controls of filter 4 to macro 2
- minimize all the filters but the first
- done!

If you want to spend some more time you can also set up different stacks of filters in seperate chains of the effect rack (chain 1: 1 filter, chain 2: 2 filters, chain 3: 3 filters, and so on) and adjust a macro to the chain selector. so you can choose how many filters you want to use in a row.

Image


this workaround is very funny.
you're suggesting that in order to prevent 12hz from always being in a mix, you should simply s"tack up 15 EQ's in a row and hey, you're done, it was that easy!"
Dude...if 12 Hz is coming out of your DAW there's a bug somewhere.
If you need to stack up EQ's before it goes away..something is really wrong, lol.


Last edited by jasper on Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spectrum/EQ/Low-end problems - am I a dummy?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:24 am 

Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:57 am
Posts: 331
Found this thread while searching for this issue.
At first I did notice a lack of headroom with Live.
But then today I discovered why there is a lack of headroom.
Even if it's just a hihat, the spectrum plugin always shows a bar at 12 Hz bouncing up and down.
So I rolled off everything below 30, then 60, then 100...
Then I stacked five or six EQ's in row, all rolled up at about 100...
and that 12 Hz still comes out from this audio engine.
It's one of those things on the "make sure it's fixed before upgrading list"

Why is 12Hz even there AT ALL ?
You can damage your speakers with shit like that, guys, c'mon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spectrum/EQ/Low-end problems - am I a dummy?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:17 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Posts: 11636
Location: MacAbleton Towers, sunny Manchester.
A lot depends on the vertical scale of Spectrum. If you have a huge scale it will pick up very low levels of low freqs. You're never gonna get rid of them completely. Make sure you compare like with like and take the vertical scale into account, use the same one if possible. See what level is audible.

_________________
Image
★ 140 PAGES OF FREE exclusive Ableton Live and Mac OS X tutorials ★ News, interviews, gear reviews ★ Productivity, ergonomics, mouse-free computing
"great site with clear instructions and i like it that you make it understandable" dwiddy
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spectrum/EQ/Low-end problems - am I a dummy?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:53 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12974
Location: Seattle
You don't need to kill all frees below a point to do the job either, especially for what you're trying to do. Often a simple cut of a few dB below a certain cutoff point does the job and sounds far better than throwing super steep filters on everything.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spectrum/EQ/Low-end problems - am I a dummy?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2689
Location: beneath mouse mountain
Yep, maybe I am missing something, but I don't really see what you are worried about. Sure there is some energy down at about an octave below your lowest audible levels.

So why is that a problem? You can't hear it. And if I read your spectrum right, it's quite soft ; those bars seem top be at - 120 dbfs. Which is almost inaudible. So you are not losing headroom. So what's the issue?

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc, but no elektron octatrack


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group