VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
RaidenOffKey
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:04 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by RaidenOffKey » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:57 am

I just bought a VCM600 and I'm just wondering if anyone is having the same issue.

After 30 mins of use the channel faders started to misbehave and not function properly:
The channel faders only moves between -Inf and +6db and nothing in between when using the controller faders. The Send and Master faders work normally, its just channels faders 1 to 6.

I've tried all the different midi settings in the status bar (i.e absolute/relative etc) and tired all the options in the preferences. I Deleted the application data folder, then reinstalled Ableton, reinstalled the driver for the USB via the device manager and I've also tried the controller on my other computer where it does the same thing. Nothing has worked.

Is my controller broken, sending incorrect midi data or am I missing something? I've searching everywhere online but I couldn't find anyone with the same issue.

Thanks!

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by timothyallan » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:45 am

Try a new cable, if it still does it, take it back.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by 3dot... » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:37 am

doesn't it have a 'live preset' and support in lives 'control surfaces'
did you set that up ?!
Image

RaidenOffKey
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:04 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by RaidenOffKey » Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:25 am

3dot... wrote:doesn't it have a 'live preset' and support in lives 'control surfaces'
did you set that up ?!
Done all that, the channel faders don't even work properly in Traktor so its definitely something to do with the controller itself.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by 3dot... » Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:36 am

return it!!!
Image

RaidenOffKey
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:04 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: VCM600 Fader assignment only moving Between -inf and +6db

Post by RaidenOffKey » Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:51 am

Niceeee. turned out it was the IF curve. As much as it sucks to be an idiot it's great that is something simple PHEWW.

Post Reply