Can this be done in Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
goavibe
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:55 am

Can this be done in Live?

Post by goavibe » Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:25 am

Let's say I'm using Chord and Scale to create a melody. The midi clip is a simple 4 bar loop with 4 different notes to create the chord progression. Is it possible to record the output of the midi notes of the chords being generated by the plugins on a new midi track? Similarly, if I added an Arpeggiator into the chain, could I record the individual notes of the arp onto a new midi track to edit? Thanks in advance!

thatMcFlyGuy
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:40 pm

Re: Can this be done in Live?

Post by thatMcFlyGuy » Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:30 am

If you're using ableton's midi plug-in's, then yes. Just create a new midi track and route (using the drop down menus) the midi from the original track to the new midi track and record arm the track. Press record. :)

goavibe
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:55 am

Re: Can this be done in Live?

Post by goavibe » Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:42 am

hmm, I most have done something wrong the first time because I tried that already once. It ended up recording the same notes that were on the first track and not the arp it created. I might have changed the monitor setting to in on the new track though. Would that have made a difference?

pale1
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Can this be done in Live?

Post by pale1 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:01 am

You need to record Post FX.
Regards
Macbook
Rme babyface pro
push 2
Genelec 1030A
Analogue gear
Stuff amassed through time

http://www.soundcloud.com/foss
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsEWQB ... smHhob59Xg

goavibe
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:55 am

Re: Can this be done in Live?

Post by goavibe » Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:25 am

I got it figured out, thanks for the help guys.

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Can this be done in Live?

Post by Hermanus » Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:32 am

Glad it works, the trick IF you have built an intrument rack with your device, you'll have to record the post FX from the instrument rack and not the direct Post FX.

It will record any midi notes through arpeggiators, chords, scale etc

Post Reply