Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:38 am

Hi all,

Small update :
Made some more progress on the Pro version. got the two step sequencers working !
of course it is still completely full of bugs, but now all features are present and kind of working.
will post a new version soon. (still consider this alpha quality...)

As for the MK2 version i would like to find a dev that can help in the coding and testing, as i dont have a MK2 RGB myself.

more than ever i would like to thank the community for the support and help.

i also opened a slack channel so that developers that want to join the effort can. feel free to request access: https://launchpad95.slack.com/messages/general/

cheers,

mots

yur2die4
Posts: 6424
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:36 am

Was playing with the Melodic Step Sequencer using Live's Impulse device. Very funn!! (as long as I remember to change the octave up 2).

Beautiful work.

I enjoy being able to push some velocity dynamics into a rhythm, or just hitting random and jumping between parts of patterns :D.

apren
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by apren » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:31 am

Hi, mots, and thanks for this great script.

I send you a mail, but i put here my problem.

When i go to device mode, all pads are unlighted. I have two problems.

1.- Only works the first vertical line of pads, and therefore, i only can move 1 plugin knob.

2.- If i change the user mode 1 (to red, to amber, and green of new) and came back to device mode, all pads are amber and green lighted, like instrument mode.

This occurs on my laptop and desktop pc, both with Live 9.5 64 bit and Windows 7 64.

The problem is my system? Or may be a script bug?

Thanks. :)
Ableton Live Suite 9 - Ryzen 2700 - 16 Gb ram - RME Babyface - Dynaudio BM6A/Genelec 8020 - Free VST plugins.

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Jan 27, 2016 7:43 am

apren wrote:Hi, mots, and thanks for this great script.

I send you a mail, but i put here my problem.

When i go to device mode, all pads are unlighted. I have two problems.

1.- Only works the first vertical line of pads, and therefore, i only can move 1 plugin knob.

2.- If i change the user mode 1 (to red, to amber, and green of new) and came back to device mode, all pads are amber and green lighted, like instrument mode.

This occurs on my laptop and desktop pc, both with Live 9.5 64 bit and Windows 7 64.

The problem is my system? Or may be a script bug?

Thanks. :)
sorry about this. it should be fixed now !
https://github.com/hdavid/Launchpad95/c ... 425d63cae6

get the last version on my site as usual.

dave dominey
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 4:11 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by dave dominey » Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:10 am

not sure if this is of any use to anybody but i had another tweak of the scale modes

i find this layout much more intuitive for my needs...

'Ionian', [0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11],
'Dorian', [0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10],
'Phrygian', [0, 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10],
'Lydian', [0, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11],
'Mixolydian', [0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10],
'Aeolian', [0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10],
'Locrian', [0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10],
'Diminished HW', [0, 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10],

'Jazz Melodic Minor', [0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11],
'Dorian flat nine', [0, 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10],
'Lydian Augmented', [0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11],
'Mixo plus eleven', [0, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10],
'Mixo flat thirteen', [0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10],
'Locrian plus nine', [0, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10],
'Super Locrian', [0, 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10],
'Diminished WH', [0, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11],

'Harmonic Minor', [0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 11],
'Locrian plus six', [0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10],
'Major plus five', [0, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11],
'Dorian plus eleven', [0, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10],
'Phrygian Major', [0, 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10],
'Lydian plus nine', [0, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11],
'Ultra Locrian', [0, 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9],
'Whole Tone', [0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10],

'Major Pentatonic', [0, 2, 4, 7, 9],
'Minor Pentatonic', [0, 3, 5, 7, 10],
'Minor Blues', [0, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10],
'Harmonic Major', [0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11],
'In-Sen', [0, 1, 5, 7, 10],
'Desh', [0, 2, 5, 7, 11],
'Pelog', [0, 1, 3, 4, 7, 8],
'IonEol', [0, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11]

apren
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by apren » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:17 pm

Thanks! Now works fine! :)
Ableton Live Suite 9 - Ryzen 2700 - 16 Gb ram - RME Babyface - Dynaudio BM6A/Genelec 8020 - Free VST plugins.

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by Buleriachk » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:29 pm

Hi, Mots,

What is the situation with Live 6?

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:35 am

Buleriachk wrote:What is the situation with Live 6?
live 9.6 yes. live 6, or 7 or 8, no.

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by Buleriachk » Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:05 pm

mots wrote:
Buleriachk wrote:What is the situation with Live 6?
live 9.6 yes. live 6, or 7 or 8, no.
Good enough..:)

kenerpo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:18 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by kenerpo » Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:31 am

Hi mots,
thanks a lot for your work, the launchpad95 it's a great script!
I've some issue when I try to add the STOP BUTTONS (changing in "True" the line in settings.py "SESSION__STOP_BUTTONS = False" ) in ableton 9.6. After this the lights of my launchpad (S) do not light up.
If there're any solution?

Anyway thanks again!

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:58 am

kenerpo wrote:Hi mots,
thanks a lot for your work, the launchpad95 it's a great script!
I've some issue when I try to add the STOP BUTTONS (changing in "True" the line in settings.py "SESSION__STOP_BUTTONS = False" ) in ableton 9.6. After this the lights of my launchpad (S) do not light up.
If there're any solution?

Anyway thanks again!
hello,

my launchpad is at a friend, for a gig. so i cannot reproduce the bug for now. sorry.
i will have a look when i get my launchpad back

but the temporary solution is just to go mixer mode and back to session. two extra button presses.

kenerpo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:18 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by kenerpo » Wed Feb 17, 2016 10:51 am

Thanks for the quick reply and for your solution.
I'll wait if there're something to do for the stop line at the bottom of the session. :D

pikerchu
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by pikerchu » Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:14 am

do you have a download file that works with live 9.1?

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:47 am

pikerchu wrote:do you have a download file that works with live 9.1?
hello,

no i dont maintain backward compatibility, simply because it is just too much work for me...
upgrades are free. just upgrade.

mots
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:02 pm

quick update !

the mk2 will be supported, in non RGB mode at first shortly. :)

Post Reply