Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mo-seph
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mo-seph » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:11 pm

I can confirm Launchpad95 working on Live10, it's great!

one small bug - quite often the track stop buttons stop working in Session mode. They're enabled in the settings file, and work fine for a while, then stop working halfway through a set. I haven't figured out what makes this happen, though.

Djeridu
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:23 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by Djeridu » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:15 pm

Hi everybody!
I have a launchpad Pro and using this wonderful scripts with Ableton 10!
According to the manual it seems that I have (for the moment...) a few problems on Note Mode:
1-Mute button does nothing
2-Solo button does nothing
3-Play and stop buttons are switched (play is on stop and stop on play)
4-delete button does nothing

I have recorded a video showing all this things:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18M1Il_x7L0

Can you please give me some advice?

Many thanks in advance

thegraygerald
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by thegraygerald » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:39 pm

Hello folks. New launchpad95 user. I’m really blown away by the expanded functionality. I’ve run into an issue though, maybe someone can explain to me whether I’m just using it wrong.
So I’m in the drum sequencer mode, make a drum pattern, works like a charm. But then I want to create another drum device in a separate track, say percussion, and then use the step sequencer on that track/clip. However the drum sequencer seems to be locked to the original track whether I use the lock function or not. I try to manually duplicate the midi and delete the notes from the sequencer and lock it to the new track, and it deletes my original sequence, even tho I duplicated it into a new clip which the sequencer was presumably not locked to. Does anyone know what is going on with this? How do I create a drum pattern in the sequencer, save that sequence, and then use the sequencer on a new device clip while keeping the original sequence?

50782
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:28 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by 50782 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 pm

project abandoned? Noble effort. I wish someone would take over the project and keep it up to date. I'm sure many people would donate happily too...I did in the past...not a lot, but what I was able to share at the time

mots
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:01 am

Djeridu wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:15 pm
According to the manual it seems that I have (for the moment...) a few problems on Note Mode:
1-Mute button does nothing
2-Solo button does nothing
3-Play and stop buttons are switched (play is on stop and stop on play)
4-delete button does nothing
50782 wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 pm
project abandoned? Noble effort. I wish someone would take over the project and keep it up to date. I'm sure many people would donate happily too...I did in the past...not a lot, but what I was able to share at the time
After investing quite some time on the project and supporting on my own all flavours of the launchpad(original, mk2, mini, pro, mini mk2) for many years (it started with Ableton live 7!), it's true, i kind of moved on.
I am not saying i wont fix a small bug if it stops working with a new version of live. But i dont plan on working on major features or changes.
Also there are indeed bugs in the Pro version of launchpad 95 that i could not fix. and for now it will remain like that. if anyone want to help fix it it would be awesome.

I guess out of the total work effort spent on the project, 95% was my own time, 5% user contributions. if anyone want to join and make pull requests to submit bug fixes i will be more than happy to integrate them!

GingerKanye
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by GingerKanye » Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 am

I just noticed what might be a bug. When I'm in device control mode (user1), the leftmost device+ button doesn't work. I can only scroll "down" through devices, but not "up".

I'm using a launchpad mini mk2, ableton 9, windows 10. I tried searching for this issue but couldn't find anything.

EDIT: I just noticed that this issue is only when dealing with effect or instrument racks. Device up and down doesn't cycle through devices within a rack. It works fine with individual, ungrouped devices.

nc2010
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 9:34 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by nc2010 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:56 pm

Hello,
A small bug report with Launchpad (the first version) + Live 10 + Launchpad 95:

The "delete clip" feature doesn't work well. This is how to reproduce:
1) have a few clips on session view
2) Hit "User1 / Instrument Controller Mode" then long press on "Stop" (right column, the launch scene column) and press the clip you want to delete => random behaviour (sometimes works, sometimes not).

From doc:
- stop : a long press will DELETE currently selected clip. No worries this is undoable !

GingerKanye
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by GingerKanye » Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:36 am

I just got a launchpad pro and have a couple issues with the pro95 script: It seems that when in note mode with a drum rack, I can't scroll up and down through the pads.

Also, on a regular launchpad in drum step sequencer mode, the pads in the lower left would light up or not to reflect whether or not samples were loaded there. That doesn't seem to be the case with the pro95 script.

Does anyone have any suggestions to fix these issues? I'm running windows 10 and using live 9.7.7

PeterLustiger
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:27 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by PeterLustiger » Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:40 pm

Hey,
first of all I really appreciate your efforts that went into making Launchpad 95.
However there is one detail that kinda annoys me. In Session Mode the unselected
individual clips are all red and not the colour initially selected.
Thanks for doing what you do and keep up the awesome work.

Elias B
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:48 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by Elias B » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:52 pm

Hi

I have just installed the Launchpad 95 script and it works perfectly. However, all colours become slightly "off" when in session view. What used to be a bright yellow, now becomes offwhite, what used to be turquoise now looks like some kind off offish lime green. Is it possible to change this?

Thanks!

Wubzy22
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:59 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by Wubzy22 » Tue Mar 10, 2020 8:53 pm

Hi all. I'm brand new to launchpad. I was looking at the Launchpad95 scripts for ableton and thought that would be cool. I emailed the guy who made it and he said it doesn't work on the mk3. Does anyone know if there is a similar thing out there for the mk3?
Thanks in advance.

baseinstinct
Posts: 721
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by baseinstinct » Thu May 07, 2020 11:50 am

Isn't mk3 listed on the website as compatible?

billybuck1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:01 pm

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by billybuck1 » Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:31 pm

I was able to get Launchpad95 working with a MK3 mini by applying the latest firmware via the Components app. The new firmware allows you to put the MK3 into “legacy” mode (see the firmware release notes) that basically emulates a MK2 or older Launchpad. However, you lose some of the features unique to the MK3, such as the stop/solo/mute toggle on the bottom row of session view, and the piano key layout in keys view (Launchpad95 uses a linear key layout rather than piano style, though it has many styles to choose from including a very useful guitar layout that’s great for those familiar with a fretboard).

Also, in MK2 mode, clicking a new clip slot doesn’t automatically arm the track and start recording, as it does on the MK3. That might be confusing if you’re used to the MK3’s stock setup.

None of those missing features were dealbreakers for me, as the 95 script adds so many great functions. Would love to see it updated for the “unlegacied” MK3. Also curious as to whether it will pass key velocities if I upgrade to one of the velocity-sensitive models below the Pro.

There are occasional glitches, for example the sequencer mode sometimes doesn’t display properly, but usually switching to another mode and back again corrects the problem.

Thanks for some excellent work, Mots. I’ll be watching this thread hoping for updates.

lu57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by lu57 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:05 pm

Hi all!
Someone tested it with a Launchpad X? I tried, but once activated, all leds turn black, and nothing else happens on the LP.
I got also the following message in my log:

2020-07-06T12:32:29.918027: info: RemoteScriptMessage: (Launchpad) LaunchPad95 (LPX) Loaded !
2020-07-06T12:32:29.947211: info: Python: INFO:_Framework.ControlSurface:946 - LOG: (Launchpad) Got unknown sysex message: (240, 0, 32, 41, 2, 12, 14, 1, 247)
2020-07-06T12:32:29.947285: info: RemoteScriptMessage: (Launchpad) Got unknown sysex message: (240, 0, 32, 41, 2, 12, 14, 1, 247)

mots
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Launchpad95: Instrument, Scales, Step Sequencer, Device Ctrl

Post by mots » Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:18 pm

lu57 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:05 pm
Hi all!
Someone tested it with a Launchpad X? I tried, but once activated, all leds turn black, and nothing else happens on the LP.
I got also the following message in my log:

2020-07-06T12:32:29.918027: info: RemoteScriptMessage: (Launchpad) LaunchPad95 (LPX) Loaded !
2020-07-06T12:32:29.947211: info: Python: INFO:_Framework.ControlSurface:946 - LOG: (Launchpad) Got unknown sysex message: (240, 0, 32, 41, 2, 12, 14, 1, 247)
2020-07-06T12:32:29.947285: info: RemoteScriptMessage: (Launchpad) Got unknown sysex message: (240, 0, 32, 41, 2, 12, 14, 1, 247)
from the manual :
"For Launchpad X and Launchpad Mini MK3, make sure to select "MIDI" Ports and not the "DAW" ports."

also make sure to get the last version of the scripts.

Post Reply