All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 587 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 40  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:29 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
Instructions are here, in case you haven't seen them:
http://motscousus.com/stuff/2011-07_Nov ... e_Scripts/

rr

EDIT: +1 on integrating LaunchpadColor - I've fiddled with the py files in Launchpad85 to change some of the colours back to my preference - but it would be nice to have a separate Colors.py file for those of us who are colourblind. Cheers!

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:04 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 105
Yeah, I saw that, thanks though. I just can't seem to figure out what's going on my end. Like, I get the moving ticker, nahmean, though none of the notation responds on the grid, does that make any sense? I hate when people say this, but when I get home, I 'spose I could take a video and post it to help me explain.

_________________
rhythmic surrealism / philadelphia / $$$
http://soundcloud.com/phonographiq


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:06 pm 

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 7
Thank you so much - without a doubt this is the most fun I've had with a launchpad since purchasing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:03 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
phonographiq wrote:
Yeah, I saw that, thanks though. I just can't seem to figure out what's going on my end. Like, I get the moving ticker, nahmean, though none of the notation responds on the grid, does that make any sense?


If you highlight a midi-clip with notes in it, the notes should appear on the launchpad. If they don't, try pressing user2 again to check you are in the right mode.

This is one of the best features of this script in my opinion; that you can see the notes in the sequence both on the screen and on the controller without having to record in to a clip first.

I tried several m4l and max (monome) patches - but none came close to how user-friendly this one is.

@mots - Have you considered putting a 'donate' button on your site?

rr

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 215
phonographiq wrote:
Hey man.
I'm enjoying this quite a bit.

happy to hear that !

phonographiq wrote:
I don't really understand the stepseq at all. I had the idea of using this with slice-to-midi drum racks for rearranging samples and such but, with a wince of shame, cannot for the life of me figure what's going on on either mode. The mute lanes I understand, though the other one, the green user2, just looks like a bunch of midi conflicts lighting up, no difference whatsoever to what I select. Anyone have some insight to share?

The two modes of the step sequencer are basically doing the same thing, the only difference is that the function of the 8 most right button change. Have a look at the documentation to know which one does what.
Also, the stepsequencer does heavy use of the different colors.
Green : normal note, intensity = velocity
Amber : used to mark C (3blocks) and A (one block), and also display the metronome.
Red : muted notes, and also playing note (i know it might be confusing, but i ran out of colors ;))
you can scroll along the sequence up/down (scale) and left/right (time) with the top left nav buttons.

phonographiq wrote:
Also, this is really trivial, but are you, or anyone else, familiar with the LaunchpadColour remote script?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=141471&p=1245986
This is a python script for adjusting the LED colors for those with trouble discerning between the default yellow standby / green active scheme. I'm quite fond of it, been using it for some time now, but since switching to LP85, I have trouble adjusting back. What I'm getting at, I think, is I wonder if there's a way to combine the color API mod to this remote script. Does that make any sense?

it does :) i adapted the LaunchpadColor and put on my page !
have a look at the installation section there: http://motscousus.com/stuff/2011-07_Nov ... e_Scripts/

have fun !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:32 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
mots wrote:
i adapted the LaunchpadColor and put on my page !
have a look at the installation section there: http://motscousus.com/stuff/2011-07_Nov ... e_Scripts/


Fantastic - grabbing it now!

Although I am Red/Green colourblind, I have more trouble with telling the difference between Amber and Green on the Launchpad. The Red is pretty distinct for me.

RED_THIRD works pretty well for the C and A markers. I have adapted this section of the code to display every note - white notes at the far left and black notes indented by 1 place... with Cs as RED_HALF

Thanks for doing this!

rr

EDIT: Ha! Just found "self._mark_semitones" - great minds think alike!

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:59 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 215
rikrak wrote:

EDIT: Ha! Just found "self._mark_semitones" - great minds think alike!

i'm actually improving this to make it easier to configure for you (options at the begining of the script to select colors, for marker, metronome, and option to enable disable marker. that should help (and also simplify your task whenever i release a new version)

update coming soon !

edit : done !
grab the updated version at the usual place !
http://motscousus.com/stuff/2011-07_Nov ... e_Scripts/
2012-01-03 - add: easier to configure metronome and note markers in step sequencer. add: adapted LaunchpadColour (Launchpad85Colour) to this script, for color blind people


Last edited by mots on Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:24 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:08 pm
Posts: 105
Somebody give this guy a raise!
This is the best thing to happen to the Launchpad since mLRV2, for real. Thank you again, Mots.

_________________
rhythmic surrealism / philadelphia / $$$
http://soundcloud.com/phonographiq


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:04 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Bristol
mots wrote:
edit : done !
grab the updated version at the usual place !
http://motscousus.com/stuff/2011-07_Nov ... e_Scripts/
2012-01-03 - add: easier to configure metronome and note markers in step sequencer. add: adapted LaunchpadColour (Launchpad85Colour) to this script, for color blind people


Fast work mate! Works great.

A possibly-not-so-easy-to-implement suggestion:

Could you do a zoomed-out mode for the step sequencer grid similar to the way the session mode 'macro view' works?

So maybe an octave per line - with cells lit if there is a note present anywhere in that octave in that time-slot.

Pressing an octave (eg anywhere on the line or on the scene buttons perhaps) would zoom to that position on the regular step seq grid.

This would save scrolling around on the grid so much when moving between midi clips or where there are notes several octaves apart.

Cheers,

rr

_________________
Win 7 64bit, Live9.6, M-Audio Delta1010, padKontrol x 2, Elektron OT, MD-UW, MNM
http://soundcloud.com/scatterbattery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:09 pm 

Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 19
Just keeping this near the top in case anyone misses it.

Any news on any new features??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:46 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 215
skunkworkz wrote:
Just keeping this near the top in case anyone misses it.

Any news on any new features??


hi launchpaders,

To be fair i did not expect such a warm welcome for you all, it has been a real pleasure to read your feedback and comments. i must thank you all for this ! i really appreciate it and i'm really happy to see my scripts used here and there.

My main goal was to provide some features that were missing from the default script while still keeping it simple and intuitive, and i think so far i succeeded in adding a step sequencer and a device controller in the mix, without compromising the existing functionalites and keeping it clear and easy to use. Thank you all (you will recognize yourself here;)) for your feedback and help. I'll keep on working on it and making it better !

The next steps will be stabilising the script and making it as bug free as possible. I would like to add a few tiny things like being able to select the scale in the step sequencer mode and fixing quite a few bugs in the device controller.

Also looking around for similar scripts i found quite a few customisations for the launchpad script that provide amazing things, like
http://www.nativekontrol.com/LPC-Live.html that can do a lot for your launchpad. have a try !

i'll keep this thread updated as i update the scripts shortly.

mots


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:48 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:50 am
Posts: 75
haha wtf more cool toys for launchpad.

I've already got 7up & Aurex's stuff to play with and now another one to try! I'm getting more chuffed all the time with my decision to buy the launchpad, shouldnt have held off so long really..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:53 pm 

Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 19
That's whats so cool about this script! You could use all 3 of those at once!

If only it had some of the controls that NativeKontrols LPC has for controlling the interface to replace the mouse 8) :wish:

Keep up the good work mots


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:30 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 88
just wondering, is there anyway to get rid of the step sequencer note markers (the 3 amber colored ones at C and 1 at A)? it's visually confusing me sometimes. btw, this is some really good work, gives the launchpad so much more flexibility in live.

also, is there a way to change the default input velocity of the midi notes in the sequencer without using the velocity plugin? it keeps showing up at 110 when everything else i put is at 100.

edit: nevermind, modified both in the script, hope nothing goes wrong!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novation Launchpad Script with Stepsequencer and Device Ctrl
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:46 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 215
ameliablack wrote:
just wondering, is there anyway to get rid of the step sequencer note markers (the 3 amber colored ones at C and 1 at A)? it's visually confusing me sometimes. btw, this is some really good work, gives the launchpad so much more flexibility in live.

also, is there a way to change the default input velocity of the midi notes in the sequencer without using the velocity plugin? it keeps showing up at 110 when everything else i put is at 100.

edit: nevermind, modified both in the script, hope nothing goes wrong!


indeed you can edit that in scripts, at the top of step sequencer python source you have options to change some things.
-enable note marker and change their colors
-change velocity values
-enable metronome etc etc.

i'm working a on some addition and fixes to be able to work with scales in the step sequencer. i'll update that thread when ready.

have fun


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 587 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 40  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group