Page 1 of 1

ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:11 pm
by greenscreens
ive looked inside all of my clips, and not found any midi information at all but for some reason this session will not stop changing presets on my external synthesizer... anyone else having these issues? if so is there some sort of workaround? i tried pasting into a new session but that hasnt helped at all

Re: ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:13 pm
by arbee
I get this sometimes, too. for my hardware synth plugged via MIDI. dunno what happen. I have a launchpad, do you have one too ?? maybe it's the 2 directions continious MIDI messages ?!? not even sure it's a good avenue to solve the problem...

thanks !

Re: ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:05 pm
by willdahbe
Maybe try switching the midi channel from 1 if you haven't already done so. And make sure "Track" is turned off in the midi preferences.

Re: ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:33 pm
by Migra
Are you sure that Program, Bank and SubBank are set to 'None'? If so, then it's a weird case! :? :roll:

Re: ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:42 pm
by greenscreens
where do you set program bank and sub bank?

Re: ableton causing weird program changes on my synth

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:58 pm
by Migra
double click on every midi clip, on the below section of ableton (midi clip properties, find where program, bank and subbank are, and make sure the 3 of them are set to 'none' instead of some number