How to learn all that music stuff? Time is a problem...

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Evengy

How to learn all that music stuff? Time is a problem...

Post by Evengy » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:21 am

hey guys,

im try to making music since 2-3 years. one of them i played the guitar only because i don´t had the feeling that im a real musician.
there are so many things i want (must!) to learn that im interested in how you guys handle this.

i´m coming home @ 16:30 and going to bed @ ~22:30 to watch some movies/series with my girlfriend (living with her). so i have max 6 hours a day to spend on whatever. time with my gf, time with my friends, cleaning home, doing private stuff, cooking and eating so i have hmm 2-3 hours normally. i know that this is more time than other people have because they had children or another things to do.

so i have 2-3 hours on the one side and a lot to learn on the other side:
- learning piano/keyboard
- learning music theory
- understanding sequenzer, plugins etc.
- synthesis
- composing
- reading books, tutorials, workshops (to work trough a book can "steal" a lot of time but i/we need it. but i can´t work on a music theory book for a year because i have no time for playing piano then or learning synthesis or the important one -> making music)

i WANT to be good on all that things to make better music but learning piano needs many years (training every day) to be good. whats with synthesis? 1 or 2 years to be good? composing? whole life? i think you know what i mean ;)