All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:00 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm
Posts: 21952
Rumors flying that this will drop soon.

I’m somewhat more excited about this than Live 9, but also concerned. The recent release of Final Cut Pro X was a big disappointment to a lot of long time users because Apple removed a lot of popular features and completely changed the workflow in other areas. Users were calling it iMovie Pro. I hope Apple doesn’t go along the same lines with Logic and releases Garageband Pro. There’s also rumors that some of the features that come standard with Logic now will be changed to pay for add-ons like Main Stage and Soundtrack Pro.

Really what I’m hoping for is they make Logic more streamlined and less cumbersome (more Live-like?). Just one example I can think of is to feed a MIDI track to an audio track you have to feed the MIDI track to a bus track and then from the bus track to an audio track. Stupid middle man shit like that needs to go.

Discuss.

_________________
Cuddle Core :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:19 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1536
Logic X will be around $200 as they have FCPX price droped around 1/3.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:23 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 14301
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).

Personally, I really think Logic is overdue a massive overhaul, even if it pisses off some power users. The audio editing is archaic compared to most DAWs, and in many ways I think it's way too bloated for 99% of users.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering, Mixdowns, and Track Consulting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:31 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3946
Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?

_________________
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.10.1, L9.1.6, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:41 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm
Posts: 2929
To prevent himself from endlessly midi-editing?

_________________
Rahad Jackson wrote:
My Awesome Mix Tape #6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:48 pm 

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:13 am
Posts: 113
Im all for an App store version since I've never used Logic and wouldnt miss any present features.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:21 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:09 pm
Posts: 20
Location: the holloway road
Only last weekend i wiped logic express 9 from my hard drive.
I never got on with it,too cumbersome for me,i'd rather have a
few more gb hard drive space.Won't be upgrading i'm sure Apple
will shit all over their userbase with logic x.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:31 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1536
chapelier fou wrote:
Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?

Yea I'm curious too. Freezing is needed only when it hogs CPU for me.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm
Posts: 21952
Tarekith wrote:
I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).

Personally, I really think Logic is overdue a massive overhaul, even if it pisses off some power users. The audio editing is archaic compared to most DAWs, and in many ways I think it's way too bloated for 99% of users.




I put out a solid effort to do everything in Logic and while I did get further along in songs due to the lack of endless noodling you often get using Live I still didn’t complete a track (my big enemy: Endless stacking regardless of DAW). But I did run into things that are just effortless in Live that are a bit of a head scratcher with Logic. Then I put some time into Maschine and that made more sense with Live with dragging patterns from Maschine into clips in Live for experimentation and editing. I’m wondering if Apple is considering introducing something like Live’s clip matrix since other developers seem to be adding something similar to their software. Beyond Main Stage Logic is really falling behind in the performance and pattern based experimentation and writing department.

Then there’s the possibility that they add some of the features they introduced in Garageband for iPad like the instruments that practically play themselves in key and drum pattern building and variations based on grid placement.

And doubtful, but it would be nice if Apple made their own idevice controller app. I’m sure the Logic developers are more than just a little interested in doing that.

Also Apple is having a keynote some time this month and traditionally this is the time of the year when the keynote is music focused (ipod, itunes, iCloud match this year). So it would make sense for them to also have news about Logic.

_________________
Cuddle Core :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:35 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 6156
Now that my installation of live is fooked I have switched to Cubase which tbh sounds that little bit better. I can't see myself trying logic since I have cubase 6 which also has eucon support for my Euphonix mixing desk :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:45 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm
Posts: 21952
pencilrocket wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:
Just curious, Tarekith, why do you always record the audio from softsynths ?

Yea I'm curious too. Freezing is needed only when it hogs CPU for me.



I can’t speak for Tarekith, but I’ve heard many other PRO producers often convert MIDI to audio as quickly as possible and as has been suggested it’s because it does somewhat commit to the sound which can still be edited with effects and chopping but you won’t be wasting a lot of time micro editing parameters on the sound source plug-in.

_________________
Cuddle Core :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:11 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:45 am
Posts: 31
Location: Los Angeles
beats me wrote:
Rumors flying that this will drop soon.

I’m somewhat more excited about this than Live 9, but also concerned. The recent release of Final Cut Pro X was a big disappointment to a lot of long time users because Apple removed a lot of popular features and completely changed the workflow in other areas. Users were calling it iMovie Pro. I hope Apple doesn’t go along the same lines with Logic and releases Garageband Pro. There’s also rumors that some of the features that come standard with Logic now will be changed to pay for add-ons like Main Stage and Soundtrack Pro.

Really what I’m hoping for is they make Logic more streamlined and less cumbersome (more Live-like?). Just one example I can think of is to feed a MIDI track to an audio track you have to feed the MIDI track to a bus track and then from the bus track to an audio track. Stupid middle man shit like that needs to go.

Discuss.



What will it be first, Live or Logic ? Ableton must have a pretty tight group of devs and beta testers.. No solid rumors of Live 9 yet from what I have read or seen anywhere

_________________
jROB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:46 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm
Posts: 21952
jrob6716 wrote:
What will it be first, Live or Logic ? Ableton must have a pretty tight group of devs and beta testers.. No solid rumors of Live 9 yet from what I have read or seen anywhere



I think it will be Logic first. Apple could release it at any time without notice. It's not their main product by any means. I think Ableton will be a little more strategic with some solid buzz build ahead of time.

_________________
Cuddle Core :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:04 pm 

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:18 pm
Posts: 63
Tarekith wrote:
I'm with you on the routing issue, at least it's doable in Logic now though, for a long time it wasn't. I ALWAYS record softsynths right to audio tracks as I play them, so this is crucial for me (and one reason I don't use StudioOne, which is think is awesome otherwise).


hehe..it's exactly what Jonathan announced today for Studio One v2 (better routing and direct recording), and he also said v2 it's "coming soon" :wink:

oh..and sorry for OT, guys :oops: ..It just looks like we will have a wave of new upcoming versions of our favorite daws, soon :D

Cheers!

_________________
Ableton Live 8.2.5, Logic 9.1.5, Snow Leo 10.6.8, Macbook Pro 5.1 (2.53 GHz, 4GB Ram, 320GB HDD, 9600GT), T.C. Electronic Desktop Konnekt 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:06 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 14301
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Got a link for the announcement about Studio 1 v2? I'd love to see them implement that, as it's a fantastic app otherwise.

As for why I record to audio right away, it's so I can get what I heard while playin the part captured and just move on. It's faster for me to just try again if I make any mistakes while playing, versus getting stuck in that trap of just fixing one note.

No CPU issues, no automation, no temptation to try and fix things, it just gets recorded and that's that. Besides, with something like Live, it's almost as easy to tweak audio as it is MIDI if it comes to that.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering, Mixdowns, and Track Consulting.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group