All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:15 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:38 am
Posts: 387
FCPX price was still cheaper than the upgrade cost of FCS 2 to 3. I use FCP everyday and prefer the look of the new FCPX, there's a lot of bitching going on about FCPX on the Internet but I personally believe they've made a good move starting the code again from scratch.

Apple don't sit back and wait they innovate where they see fit and wait for people to catch up.

Maybe they should have kept FCS3 for sale from the start, they've obviously made a lot of mistakes with FCPX release. There are a lot of pro features missing, but the problem with pros is that the companies we work for has a lot of old machines and workflows, they have costs in the millions and they can't keep up with the technological changes.

Logic X or LPX whatever they call it, I'm hoping they put the features from soundtrack pro in there, change the GUI so it's similar to FCPX update the look of the synths, etc.

Maybe what they'll do is make a Pro App store and sell the instruments and plugins separately. I'm sure this will piss a lot of people off though, but could be cool for other AU makers to have one marketplace to sell all their software?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:24 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1719
foxymethoxy wrote:
steko wrote:
To prevent himself from endlessly midi-editing?


This x1000. It took a long time for me to really understand the value of this, but now I would never go back to doing only MIDI work.


Oh that's why your works are rough.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:58 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
Best troll ever lol

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:09 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1719
timothyallan wrote:
Best troll ever lol

You took everything serious.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:34 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
Lolz

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:50 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am
Posts: 330
Well, for me the best things in Logic - without any comparison: UltraBeat, SpaceDesigner (the synthetic IRs), delay designer, a little bit Sculpture. evb3 and the clavinet are ok, but there are alternatives. envreverb is great idea, but would need some good algorithms. exs is ok for its efficiency, but that is not that crucial these days anymore. There are some nice plugins - the more experimental ones ...

Guess they will have some tape sims as great feature (very one is doing them now - Steinberg/Yamaha, Digi - ok, they are not bundle-ing them yet ... but I guess soon). Logic is still the only AU DAW in Mac that is 64bit, so I guess, for Apple it is still an important tool to to keep the platform up to date and competitive.

Just my thoughts

best


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:03 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm
Posts: 6249
Khazul wrote:
pencilrocket wrote:
Logic X will be around $200 as they have FCPX price droped around 1/3.

Along with some noises about no upgrade price from v9


What? Where are you hearing this?

_________________
Unsound Designer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 232
steff3 wrote:
Logic is still the only AU DAW in Mac that is 64bit,



cubase 6 is 64 bit on the mac

_________________
macbook pro 2.5 i5 os 10.12 , TC Electronik Konnekt 48, Live 9, Cubase 9, event 20/20, Waldorf Blofeld, roland tb-03, roland Jx-03, korg mikrokontrol, novation nocturn, akai lpd8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:33 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 17185
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
I believe studio one is as well.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:07 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1719
No merit at present for using 64bit native. Dump noob.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:18 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
Best troll ever lol

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:22 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1719
timothyallan wrote:
Best troll ever lol

Oh you got such a huge number of post count by posting such a useless comment everyday. Cool.

Quote:
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5322
Location: Melbourne Australia

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:27 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
lol

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:45 am 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am
Posts: 330
[quote="hps909"][quote="steff3"] Logic is still the only AU DAW in Mac that is 64bit,

[/quote]

cubase 6 is 64 bit on the mac[/quote]

yes, but AFAIK it does not support AU - 1) I wrote AU DAW and - 2) Apple might be interested to have DAWs that integrate with OSX (and thus support AU) ...

best


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1719
steff3 wrote:
hps909 wrote:
steff3 wrote:
Logic is still the only AU DAW in Mac that is 64bit,



cubase 6 is 64 bit on the mac


yes, but AFAIK it does not support AU - 1) I wrote AU DAW and - 2) Apple might be interested to have DAWs that integrate with OSX (and thus support AU) ...

best


best for what?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group