tb303 in Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

tb303 in Live?

Post by joeyfivecents » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:13 pm

Is there a simple 303 emulation in Live? All the synths are incredible but I need something more basic with just the right glide. Believe it or not, I used to use Computer Music's CM303 until I switched to OSX and it was the easiest to work with. Any suggestions?
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by joeyfivecents » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:18 pm

Nevermind. TAU Bassline.
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

Rinsemeister
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:08 am
Location: Up in the Mountains NW of Alicante, Spain

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by Rinsemeister » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:37 pm

joeyfivecents wrote:Nevermind. TAU Bassline PRO.
Fixed :mrgreen:

dev
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: lv
Contact:

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by dev » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:45 pm

i like Phoscyon by D16.

tigali
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by tigali » Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:22 pm

Phoscyon sounds amazing but I must have it nearly a year now and I still don't fully understand how it works. It's not exactly intuitive is it? I tend to just use it like a midi instrument but it seems there's a lot more to it than just playing notes and playing with the cutoff/res. Everytime I try to spend some time trying to figure it out I get bored.

psyfi
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: England

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by psyfi » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:33 pm

Phoscyon is the best 303 emulation I've ever come across. But use another distortion and not its on board one.

sigabort
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by sigabort » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:37 pm

Prefer ABL2 to Phosycon. Much closer to 303, especially on square wave. Onboard distortion is also very warm and fuzzy

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:58 pm

psyfi wrote:Phoscyon is the best 303 emulation I've ever come across. But use another distortion and not its on board one.
Huh? Phoscyons distortion is killer!
sigabort wrote:Prefer ABL2 to Phosycon. Much closer to 303, especially on square wave. Onboard distortion is also very warm and fuzzy
Yeah I prefer ABL2's square wave as well. It's a little thicker. Phoscyon has some great little extras though, like an atach setting and note length!
Professional Shark Jumper.

sigabort
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by sigabort » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:46 am

agreed, note length is really nice.

GillyDJ
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:23 am
Location: London

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by GillyDJ » Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:50 am

Isn't there a one in the free Retro Synths download called TeeBee?

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:05 pm

GillyDJ wrote:Isn't there a one in the free Retro Synths download called TeeBee?
Ya but unless you aren't changing the filter, it isn't passable. The filter knob actually switches between different sets of samples at different filter settings so there are abrupt changes in the filter sound as you change it. Nice sound, but not tweakable as you play.
Professional Shark Jumper.

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by ollyb303 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:06 pm

I use both ABL2 and Phoscyon - ABL2 is more faithful reproduction of the original, Phoscyon has more balls.
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Der_Makrophag
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:06 am

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by Der_Makrophag » Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:58 pm

Phoscyon: Best sound but inconvenient GUI.

ABL2: Sounds also good, has good GUI, but is also more expensive.


Forget about samples if you want the truth (ok if you want the truth, get the original or at least a x0xb0x).
My English is not perfect, I know... Sorry about that.

Greetings from Germany!

P.S. to wishlist forum users: Please search for former requests. Otherwise they will be splitted into many small ones and we are loosing impact!!!

DJ Ballistic
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:25 pm

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by DJ Ballistic » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:39 pm

tigali wrote:Phoscyon sounds amazing but I must have it nearly a year now and I still don't fully understand how it works. It's not exactly intuitive is it? I tend to just use it like a midi instrument but it seems there's a lot more to it than just playing notes and playing with the cutoff/res. Everytime I try to spend some time trying to figure it out I get bored.
Totally agree with your assessment here...the manual isn't very good either. They should produce some simple YouTube videos.

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: tb303 in Live?

Post by ollyb303 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:31 pm

DJ Ballistic wrote:
tigali wrote:Phoscyon sounds amazing but I must have it nearly a year now and I still don't fully understand how it works. It's not exactly intuitive is it? I tend to just use it like a midi instrument but it seems there's a lot more to it than just playing notes and playing with the cutoff/res. Everytime I try to spend some time trying to figure it out I get bored.
Totally agree with your assessment here...the manual isn't very good either. They should produce some simple YouTube videos.
I just don't bother with the sequencer, same as I don't bother with the sequencer in ABL2 - it's as counterintuitive as the one on the real McCoy - I just send midi to them, overlap midi notes for slide, louder notes for accent, piece of piss. Unfortunately I'm stuck with the sequencer on my TB... Could always midi it up, I guess.
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Post Reply