Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Theo Void » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:08 pm

I use Fabfilter pro-q, pro-c, timeless and volcano. For the record, I absolutely LOVE these things! I couldn't imagine not using it now.
I just started to mess around w/ Fabfilter One and Twin.
Twin seems like a decent synth. Anyone have any experience w/ it?

Rave
Posts: 6152
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Rave » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:46 pm

Me. Fabfilter are amazing. I love their products. You should get their limiter too tis the dogs bollox.

I have only touch the service with twin but I think it is a great tool to learn synthesis.
Sorry I can't be of more help

Cheers

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Theo Void » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:23 pm

Its cool. I'm not really looking for help just opinions I guess. I've been using twin all day and I absolutely love it! It sounds great and the modulation system is great!

Ya I need to get the Limiter. I've heard good things

mholloway
Posts: 1575
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by mholloway » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:12 pm

frankly the highly-stylized UI really bugs the crap out of me. On one level it's neat but on another level it's just annoying.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Theo Void » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:18 pm

Ya. It's a bit cartoon-ish but I like it. Very efficient imho

Saxer
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Saxer » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:53 pm

i like this synth and also the presets coming wiht it. they are kind of different... modern but not agressive.
the gui is ok but with more complex sounds you can't see all the modulations and have to scroll... a bigger gui could easily avoid that.

lunabass
Posts: 988
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:13 am
Location: Radelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by lunabass » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:07 am

i have twin-v1 and really like it. the mod section is great.

the gui looks like someone vomited on a plate but it's usable and more importantly i really like the sound..
:: Current Releases ::
Miles End - Beatport
www.lunabass.com
www.ba-doop.com

The Manuel Portio - Beatport
lunabass [House] - Facebook
Kamuku [Drum & Bass]
Atomitek [Techno]

Cool Character
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:48 am

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by Cool Character » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:12 am

I liked Twin before it became Twin2.
The horizontal scrolling, AUGH I CAN'T TAKE IT.

UnCL0NED
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Latitude: 52° 4' 60 N, Longitude: 4° 17' 60 E

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by UnCL0NED » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:01 am

I'm also a big fan of the Fabfilter products. Especially Volcano I absolutely love. But twin2 is actually my least used softsynth. The basic sound you get out of it is not aggressive enough for me. But I guess it really depends on the type of music you make! Whenever I need this type of sound, I usually reach for Fabfilter One.
soundcloud
"everything you read on the internet is true!"

citizenchris099
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:13 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by citizenchris099 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:17 pm

I adore Volcano! I use it on damn near every track. Twin...I had too many problems. Maybe you guys can help.

So i would load an instance of Twin to a midi track. Load up a bass preset and go to town recording clips. Every once in a while for no apparent reason the pitch would bend on the clips i had recorded. I wasn't hitting the pitch bend knob on my controller. I know it was Twin because how I "fixed" it would be to replace Twin first with an Ableton instrument...no problem. Then I replaced the Ableton Instrument with Twin again...loaded the preset...and there was that annoying pitch bend again. Weird.

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by craftycurate » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:33 pm

Cool Character wrote:I liked Twin before it became Twin2.
The horizontal scrolling, AUGH I CAN'T TAKE IT.
There is an update with a wider GUI.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by craftycurate » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:43 pm

I love the Fabfilter stuff - I have Twin 2, Timeless 2 and Volcano 2. For me Twin 2 is perhaps not the most feature-packed synth but you can create awesome sounds, and the modulation system is so fast and visual it makes programming fun and easy and this adds a whole level of sound variation that makes up for the smallish feature set.

The filters sound great - everything from smooth right through to warm, fat or screechy metallic ...

Be aware that Twin 2 has what I'd call a bug (though the programmer I emailed described it as a feature) - MIDI sustain (e.g. from foot pedal) does not automatically maintain the main ADSR envelope at the sustain level (as nearly every other softsynth does), so you have to program it in for each individual patch. This is especially annoying when you want to sustain a pad sound, or to play a keyboard sound like an electric piano. If I'm wrong about this please let me know!

I don't use Volcano much to be honest, but I do use Timeless 2 a lot.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

anybody human
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Anyone use Twin2 by Fabfilter?

Post by anybody human » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:56 pm

I'm a big fan of Fabfilter. I've bought all their stuff and use their mix tools - Pro Q, L, C, & G on a daily basis. Had issues w/ Live and Timeless, Volcano etc. where automation gets squirrely sometimes. Might be one of those using AU vs. VST things that happen sometimes. Great plugins though.

Twin 2 has a cool feature where pulse width can be set or modulated on not just square waves. Pretty unique feature.

Post Reply