Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
nathannn
Posts: 3315
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by nathannn » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:43 am

you also chimed in on the hijack so what does that make you?
a hijacker of a noob.
how low can you get to hijack a noob?
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by H20nly » Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:10 am

pencilrocket wrote:Are you blinded? Read the title of this topic. You are hijacking with your noobness revealing throughout your irrelevant posts.
nathannn wrote:you also chimed in on the hijack so what does that make you?
a hijacker of a noob.
how low can you get to hijack a noob?
pretty much this ^


... and Fruity Loops is easy on your processor. like it or not. that was mentioned. it ties the two subjects together.

besides, reading a little more English will help with writing it. :wink:

fishmonkey
Posts: 4119
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by fishmonkey » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:07 am

Vance wrote:
ze2be wrote:Keep in mind though, that a lot of resorces goes to keep everything prepared to be played and remixed, moved, drag n droped, without glitching the signal. The live set comes first. Naturally this requires more resources then your typical linear "of line" DAW.
This is demonstrably not the case at all - look at the CPU meter readouts in my original post. At the point when Live starts to become unusable due to dropouts, CPU usage is very very low indeed... Reaper manages to make use of a lot more CPU power before it starts to glitch, in comparison to Live.
a computer is a lot more than a bunch of CPUs, and clearly the CPUs themselves are not the bottlenecks here. in this situation, bandwidth and latency throughout the computer system are the limiting factors, not raw CPU power.

quite possibly Live's resource usage could be improved, however there is a huge difference between the sound engine of a linear DAW and Live's sound engine. a linear DAW has a finite number of things to compute, in a given order, which means that it is easy to precompute into the future, so to speak. big chunks of work can readily be offloaded to multiple cores.

Live on the other hand doesn't know and can't really assume what might need to computed when.

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by starving student » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:59 am

I don't know what this threads about but I love edison, I recommend it to everyone all the time if they're on pc, audiofinder
if you're on a mac
I'm looking forward to edison on the mac though, when that happens audiofinder is outta here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkeCuvr35bw

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:19 pm

H20nly wrote:besides, reading a little more English will help with writing it. :wink:
To H20nly
You too.
Can you read the English that he admit he is noob enough to post the thing which wasn't clealy true.
well yeah im a noob to edison
I didn't touch it after that because this is out of the topic. If you still try to argue about AUDIO EDITING sure go ahead. I will be reluctan to read unless it's related with the topic issue.
Image

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by 3dot... » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:12 pm

:lol:
Image

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by steko » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:44 pm

Just googled "hyper" (site:ableton.com) & found this in a one year old Answers thread: http://www.ableton.com/answers/which-pc ... leton-live

kleine (Ableton staff):
- Live does not support hyper-threading but multiple Cores
Thought it does… 8O

If still true & Reaper does, this would partially explain the difference...
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:12 am

They aren't saying it does FULLY support. That means you can use the software on multi-core platform without any issue.
Image

bicarbone
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:31 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by bicarbone » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:54 am

pencilrocket wrote:
Can you read the English that he admit he is noob enough to post the thing which wasn't clealy true.
:lol: That would be a nice quote for someone's signature!

Interesting thread btw.
|soundcloud|

MBP 2.2 GHz i7 quad 10.7.5 8GB ram | Live9suite | Reaper | Metric Halo ULN-2 + DSP | PSI A21-M active monitors | Littlepapercones passive speakers | Studer 169 analog mixer

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by crumhorn » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:30 am

What is the VST plugin buffer size in reason? what have you got it set to in Live?

Have you got your ASIO buffer size and sample rate set to the same settings.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by steko » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:30 pm

The other way round, in case Live 9 supports hyper-threading, with newer processors certain projects (in Live processing is distributed on a per-track basis: one track = one core) could see a performance jump of almost 100%!!! 8O

Huge potential… How often do we get that with software?...
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by steko » Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:56 pm

:!: update: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 9#p1394379 ff.
garyboozy wrote:
cotdagoo wrote:You can enable hyperthreading by using this line in options.txt

-ForceUseHyperThreading=1

I loaded up 14 tracks of DIVA playing a sustained note and actually saw all 8 cores working.
ummm... you'll see all 8 cores working without that line added to the options.txt too
whatever that option line is for, it isnt enabled in the current 8.3, or it requires tester/dev knowledge to know how/when it works. like most of the hidden options in the thread you got it from. most of it is useless to the end user.
garyboozy wrote:looks like it has a way to go yet, though - uses quite a lot more cpu when spread over 8 cores, from the looks of it.

here on osx, both with the option and without, you see all 8 virtual cores running on Activity Monitor when pushing hard with cpu-heavy plugs (Aalto here) with the same cpu hit regardless.
each core (quadcore i7 here) can be pushed to around 50% when Live will crap out (around 90% showing on its own cpu meter).

good to know its being worked on though
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

cotdagoo
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by cotdagoo » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:01 pm

The extra CPU garyboozy references was my fault, I'd saved my 'test' set with DIVA in devine mode by accident instead of 'great'.. so no extra CPU usage from hyperthreading..

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by steko » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:08 pm

So am I getting this right?:

On OS X hyperthreading works in Live anyway, options.txt line not needed.

On Windows hyperthreading only works with the options.text line activated?

<confused>
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

cotdagoo
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Multicore support needs a big overhaul

Post by cotdagoo » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:46 pm

steko wrote:So am I getting this right?:

On OS X hyperthreading works in Live anyway, options.txt line not needed.

On Windows hyperthreading only works with the options.text line activated?

<confused>
I can only test Windows 7, but given the results of the graphs/images I posted, and the information given by garyboozy saying it made no difference in OSX it would appear so?

No idea why.. likely only developers would know.

Unless someone from Ableton cares to clear this up?

Post Reply