Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
tomoram
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:20 am

Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Post by tomoram » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:27 pm

Right, I'm pretty sure at some point in time I saw a video where some guy had put an EQ8 into an instrument rack with a load of cuts and boosts then in 1 or 2 clicks assigned all the frequencies of all the different filters in the EQ8 to 1 knob so as you turned the knob then it scaled them up and down the frequency spectrum.

If I try and map each one indiviually they all group to the same point and in order to get them back to place it's a nightmare of adjusting all the min & max values for each filter and I'm 90% that the guy in the vid didn't do that.

Did I imagine this or is it possible? If so how do you do it?

Nice one guys, look forward to a response.

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:57 am

There's a Scale parameter at the bottom right of EQ8. Map it and it'll do what you're looking for.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

tomoram
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:20 am

Re: Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Post by tomoram » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:17 am

That scales gain not frequency :(

tomoram
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:20 am

Re: Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Post by tomoram » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:22 pm

Found the video, it was a Tom Cosm one and it was more fiddly than I remember. Basically he did it by mapping each frequency to the macro knob and then setting the min value to the original position. Here's the vid for anyone who is interested http://vimeo.com/5676755

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Scaling the frequencies in an EQ8

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:48 pm

Yeah, just realized I misread, sorry. The only way to do it currently is playing around with min/max map values, which can get fiddly.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Post Reply