Guitar amp simulators

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Guitar amp simulators

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:59 pm

I'd like to know your feelings about them. Got IK amplitube2live. It is buggy and the support screws me.
What's left ?

guitar rig ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

pepezabala
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by pepezabala » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:06 pm

Dor live-playing I use a pocketpod for my guitar, so I don't have to use cpu-cycles for amp simulation. Then I also use a delay/looper- and a distortion-pedal, everything else is done within live - looping, reverb, and all other efx, controlled by the softstep.

Guitar rig is impressing but cpu-heavy.

Tarekith
Posts: 17332
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by Tarekith » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:45 pm

Big fan of the Pod HD series here, great interfaces and sound, and you don't need a computer running to use them.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:11 pm

Thanks.
Really looking for a software solution...enough stuff on the road....
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

wasoota
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by wasoota » Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:39 pm

I use Recabinet as a cab sim, then run a real preamp into my interface. Gets me a real preamp sound (obviously) and I can still fiddle with the cabs. Recabinet is a really good cab sim and there are plenty of good free VST amp sims out there. They may not look fancy, but they sound pretty good. I found the hard part was finding a cab that sounded good.

A few I've used and liked were Juicy77 and TSE X30, the latter sort of an Engl type preamp. I also liked the Kuassa free amo and I see their paid stuff is pretty cheap, so maybe that's an option too. Freeamp 2 and 3. There's a bunch.


IK Multimedia has forums closed to the unregistered, as in not even viewable by the general public. That should tell you everything about their support policy. I'm currently trying to get rid of my StompIO with full AT3 suite.

hanneshogl
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 9:14 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by hanneshogl » Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:42 pm

I really like VANDAL a lot. Somehow it behaves moke like a real amp compared to Guitar-Rig, which is also nice.

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:53 pm

Check out this donationware, especially if you're interested in high gain amps:

http://lepouplugins.blogspot.com/

I don't use any of LePou's stuff myself, but I've noticed his work is well received, and applauded even, on one of the guitar related boards I frequent.

I've got Overloud TH2. It's very cool, but I can't claim a preference over any other option out there... just too much stuff to dick around with, too little time.

Revalver is intriguing, but last I checked, Peavey dropped the ball.

wasoota
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by wasoota » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:46 pm

I took my own word for it and just bought the Kuassa Amplifikation Creme on sale. I'm blown away. Incredible tones. And the CPU footprint is 18% here, which is about what Ableton's 'Amp' gets me. Between that and LePou I'd say you could be set. Just be fair and donate to LePou. :)

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by 3dot... » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:50 pm

to my ears..
Waves GTR no.1 with a bullet... the amps and cabinets sound almost real to me.. it's heavy on the cpu.. and gui is not so good..

runner up is GuitarRig..which has less of a CPU footprint..it's architecture and GUI are better.. more emulations..

never used Vandal....

I would try them back to back if I were you.. because there is a big difference between them all..
Last edited by 3dot... on Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:54 pm

I guess it's demo time....
Thank you !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by 3dot... » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:54 pm

a friend let me use Peavey Revalver ( http://www.peavey.com/products/software/revalver/ ).. and it sounds great..
(and is unique in that it lets you virtually built circuits.. you can go into the guts of an amp and change stuff around I'm told..)
but didn't have the chance for an in depth use.. so can't really comment on annoyances..
Image

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by crumhorn » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:02 pm

I've had a lot of fun with Green Machine which is now available as freeware -> http://www.greenmachine.pwuq.de/Wurr_Au ... nload.html

not sure if there is a mac version

EDIT: Just tried this with live 8 and it doesn't load
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

Spectrumdisco
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:44 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by Spectrumdisco » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:53 pm

I go outside the box and use a POD inside I use Guitar Rig

chaibuka
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: spencerport, ny

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by chaibuka » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:58 pm


dna598
Posts: 827
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators

Post by dna598 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:16 pm

It's a shame AMP from the abes doesn't even get a foot in.

After all this time is it still that crap?
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

Post Reply