Roland Juno 106 and Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
newboss
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:07 pm

Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by newboss » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:59 pm

I just got me a juno 106 for christmas and its a really nice machine, just the midi mode 3 where you can record all the parameter settings during a performance is not working.
I see the midi led flickering on my interface, so the juno sends something out when i move the faders. But nothing gets recorded in live. With logic it works.

So i guess thats an Ableton internal problem. Is that known already and will there be a fix ?
Anybody any ideas?

Ed_83
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:42 am

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by Ed_83 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:28 pm

The Juno-106 sends sysex messages, Ableton filters sysex out, Logic doesn't. It's one of Live's biggest flaws.

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by robleighton22 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:07 pm

just about to buy one of these (hopefully for £350) on monday. cannot wait. what are the issues using this with ableton? can you not record midi due to this systex limitation?

xenomachino1
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:07 pm

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by xenomachino1 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:03 am

thinking bout selling my mint condition, serviced, moded and upgraded to the max Juno 106. I am guessing you're in the UK?

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by robleighton22 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:49 pm

yes i am. going to view a juno 106 on monday and maybe purchase. are you in the uk?

martin808
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by martin808 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:52 pm

funny, I've just been trying to replace a broken voice chip on my 106 today. I appear to have failed. think I may have damaged one of the tracks when removing the broken voice chip. If you are going to view one make sure you learn how to put it in test mode and how to test each of the chips. they are very prone to breaking.

I love my 106 as well :(

martin808
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by martin808 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:53 pm

if anyone has a broken one for sale i'd be very interested

martin808
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by martin808 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:53 pm

if anyone has a broken one for sale i'd be very interested

martin808
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by martin808 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:54 pm

.

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by robleighton22 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:08 pm

to be honest....i am a little worried about the issue with the voice chip. whilst i want the ledgendary juno 106 analog sound, i dont want to fork out more money on continuously fixing it. these machines are the same age as me, haha. thats fairly old for a musical instrument built with electronics. i am gonna test a unit on monday and will check all 6 voices.

however, do most of these machines go wrong eventually? i had a play on an akai miniak and own a bcr2000 - together could b a combo, but obviously sonically a step down from a juno 106.

_seph
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:08 am
Location: Iowa City

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by _seph » Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:16 am

This is personal opinion and it may or may not be be helpful.. but there is no "legendary" Juno 106 sound... It is an ok synth that is now overpriced and best left to collectors. The reason why everyone has used one is because they were cheap and simple, not because they were a great synth. The sound of the Juno (and most of the entry level 80's DCO analogs) is closer to a decent VIrtual Analog synth than it is to the discrete VCO analogs of the 70's. Basically it doesn't have that analog magic and it is easily replaceable. Honestly, the Miniak (Ion/Micron) is a much more capable synth and will sound basically as analog as the Juno and it has far better MIDI implementation. It is definitely not a step down in sound and goes far beyond the Juno in nearly every way, but that is just my opinion based on experience with them.

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by starving student » Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:50 pm

xenomachino1 wrote:thinking bout selling my mint condition, serviced, moded and upgraded to the max Juno 106. I am guessing you're in the UK?
moded in what way exactly, and upgraded in what way, where's the pix?

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by robleighton22 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:17 pm

_seph wrote:This is personal opinion and it may or may not be be helpful.. but there is no "legendary" Juno 106 sound... It is an ok synth that is now overpriced and best left to collectors. The reason why everyone has used one is because they were cheap and simple, not because they were a great synth. The sound of the Juno (and most of the entry level 80's DCO analogs) is closer to a decent VIrtual Analog synth than it is to the discrete VCO analogs of the 70's. Basically it doesn't have that analog magic and it is easily replaceable. Honestly, the Miniak (Ion/Micron) is a much more capable synth and will sound basically as analog as the Juno and it has far better MIDI implementation. It is definitely not a step down in sound and goes far beyond the Juno in nearly every way, but that is just my opinion based on experience with them.
i liked the miniak, but i hav heard a juno - doesnt compare. buuuuut it depends what sort of sounds you want to make. for me i want to use it for those warms sounding chords and bases, not bothered about doing anything too complicated. agree the miniak is a more capable synth, but for certain things the juno is better...and the juno looks like it is one of the easiest synths to program, and could double up as a great midi controller....if it works.

JAMM
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:03 pm

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by JAMM » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:06 pm

I had a 106 back in the days, nice simple synth but no regrets selling it. Looks nice in a studio;)

ikeaboy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Roland Juno 106 and Live

Post by ikeaboy » Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:43 pm

You can get devices that act as a go-between for Live and the 106. One is a max4live device and the other is a third party one ( I forget the name) they will do sysex so you can automate the 106 as well as use m4l lfo's etc...
In my opinion the 106 sound has the same quality most good analogue synths have, the ability to keep the ear interested with seemingly simple sounds and it can survive more digital processing without becoming "flat" as opposed to some VA's

Post Reply