Panning single midi slices with reverb in the chain

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ArchDeacon

Panning single midi slices with reverb in the chain

Post by ArchDeacon » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:41 pm

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum. I've been registered for quite a while I can usually get the information I need by digging through through all of these threads but I had a fairly specific question and had trouble finding an answer. So thank you in advance for helping out if you can. So, basically I am working on a simple trap beat for a few of my friends to rap about hoes and what not so we can get on "dis here grind".

SOOOO, Basically I have an Acapella which I sliced into midi by transient. After that I added a nice chain of effects to the ENTIRE MIDI TRACK to make it pop a little more (the chain goes: MIDI SLICES>Saturator>Reverb>Compression>EQ). The problem lies in that the vocals samples overlapping at about 1:21 and then again overlapping MORE vocal samples over at about 2:13.
They sound good but I think it'd be much more interesting if I had a utility setup BEFORE THE CHAIN (***before because I want individual midi clips to be panned to different spots as to allow headroom). However when I set up a utility and apply it before the chain I noticed it doesn't pan very well. So I decided to run a test to find out why it wasn't panning correctly by moving the utility around different stages of the chain to see what the issue was. It turned out as I suspected to be the reverb that was taking audio from the left pan and centering it a bit which overall made for a really shitty pan. My question then is, How can i setup up each midi clip to pan differently from the other clips without the pan being effected by the reverb that comes later down the chain? Thank you again for reading and I hope your knowledge and creativity blows my mind.
Last edited by ArchDeacon on Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.soundcloud.com/ladecae