Parametric EQ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
HorusProject
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 8:11 pm
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by HorusProject » Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:37 pm

littlejim84 wrote:extremely transparent ...
@3dot

I think he means that it doesnt colour the sound like some equalizers
Kaon Flux
____________________
Poison Drum Records
http://www.soundcloud.com/kaonflux
http://www.soundcloud.com/horusproject

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:18 pm

ok... :wink:
Image

gromgrom
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by gromgrom » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:39 pm

eflatt wrote:
littlejim84 wrote:I find the EQ8 to be very useful, but the fact the spectrum analyser is separate and the display is a little small, I find FabFilter's Pro-Q to be excellent. In fact, I reckon it's one of the best. Check that as a fantastic "upgrade" to Live's EQ8.

But I do agree with others, EQ takes ages to learn and I'm far from mastery myself. But if you feel you want some more space and more bands to play with, I wholeheartedly recommend FabFilter Pro-Q.
I agree..Pro-Q is extremely transparent and precise. The changes are very audible. I think this is more suitable for use on the Master Bus when mixing or in Mastering.
Why would you want to EQ the master? Are you a mastering engineer? Otherwise getting good EQ in the mix is probably a better idea ;)

eflatt
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:02 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by eflatt » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:04 pm

HorusProject wrote:
littlejim84 wrote:extremely transparent ...
@3dot

I think he means that it doesnt colour the sound like some equalizers
3dot... knows exactly what I mean...in other words he would have preferred if I had said instead that the EQ is "Linear"
One good thing about music...when it hits..you feel no pain..[-Bob Marley....."Trench Town Rock"}

eflatt
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:02 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by eflatt » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:09 pm

gromgrom wrote:
eflatt wrote:
littlejim84 wrote:I find the EQ8 to be very useful, but the fact the spectrum analyser is separate and the display is a little small, I find FabFilter's Pro-Q to be excellent. In fact, I reckon it's one of the best. Check that as a fantastic "upgrade" to Live's EQ8.

But I do agree with others, EQ takes ages to learn and I'm far from mastery myself. But if you feel you want some more space and more bands to play with, I wholeheartedly recommend FabFilter Pro-Q.
I agree..Pro-Q is extremely transparent and precise. The changes are very audible. I think this is more suitable for use on the Master Bus when mixing or in Mastering.
Why would you want to EQ the master? Are you a mastering engineer? Otherwise getting good EQ in the mix is probably a better idea ;)
Because at the mastering stage you might want to change a wider band of the spectrum at any given instance to affect the balance. At the mastering stage you might also need a linear phase EQ to remove or reduce any obtrusive frequencies. At this stage you dont want any changes to color the sound, you just want to zero in on the problem with minimal side effects.
I will agree with the argument that all of this should be done while mixing, however I can see no problem with it being used while mastering especially due to the fact that more often than not the ME has access to better equipment for doing this.
One good thing about music...when it hits..you feel no pain..[-Bob Marley....."Trench Town Rock"}

Palmer Eldritch
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Universe>Earth>Europe>Germany

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by Palmer Eldritch » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:21 pm

eflatt wrote:...that the EQ is "Linear"
Recently I saved a eq8 preset where all gains are left to zero.
This preset did not color the sound, is extremely transparent and totally linear.
I named it placeboEQ. :wink:
Live 8_3_4 + 4b7_32+64 -Suite- Max4Live 5_1_9 _ core2DuoMacBook 2*2,16 Ghz + external FW HD _ OSX 10.6.8 _ 3G RAM _ M.H. MIO 2882 + 5.4d208 Driver _ Faderfox LV1 _ Akai MPK25 _ Logitec wheel mouse _______ PeacE will be the SOLution of LIVE

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:27 pm

eflatt wrote:
HorusProject wrote:
littlejim84 wrote:extremely transparent ...
@3dot

I think he means that it doesnt colour the sound like some equalizers
3dot... knows exactly what I mean...in other words he would have preferred if I had said instead that the EQ is "Linear"
just joking around dude.
... yes. I meant a "linear phase " eq.
Image

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:29 pm

Palmer Eldritch wrote:
eflatt wrote:...that the EQ is "Linear"
Recently I saved a eq8 preset where all gains are left to zero.
This preset did not color the sound, is extremely transparent and totally linear.
I named it placeboEQ. :wink:
very zen...

btw..it can't be a placebo if it's named like that...
Image

Palmer Eldritch
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Universe>Earth>Europe>Germany

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by Palmer Eldritch » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:39 pm

3dot... wrote:
Palmer Eldritch wrote:
eflatt wrote:...that the EQ is "Linear"
Recently I saved a eq8 preset where all gains are left to zero.
This preset did not color the sound, is extremely transparent and totally linear.
I named it placeboEQ. :wink:
very zen...

btw..it can't be a placebo if it's named like that...
F..., you are right. 8O

I will change the name immediately to "improve everything" :D
Live 8_3_4 + 4b7_32+64 -Suite- Max4Live 5_1_9 _ core2DuoMacBook 2*2,16 Ghz + external FW HD _ OSX 10.6.8 _ 3G RAM _ M.H. MIO 2882 + 5.4d208 Driver _ Faderfox LV1 _ Akai MPK25 _ Logitec wheel mouse _______ PeacE will be the SOLution of LIVE

fishmonkey
Posts: 4117
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by fishmonkey » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:40 pm

eflatt wrote:
HorusProject wrote:
littlejim84 wrote:extremely transparent ...
@3dot

I think he means that it doesnt colour the sound like some equalizers
3dot... knows exactly what I mean...in other words he would have preferred if I had said instead that the EQ is "Linear"
to be precise, linear phase EQ is not necessarily "transparent" though. it introduces different artifacts compared to minimum phase EQ.

Samaritan Sound
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:41 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by Samaritan Sound » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:16 am

Don't know about others, but the Waves Linear Phase EQ delays the signal slightly, so not really something to use while mixing or in a live session.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4117
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:46 am

Samaritan Sound wrote:Don't know about others, but the Waves Linear Phase EQ delays the signal slightly, so not really something to use while mixing or in a live session.
added latency is an unavoidable with linear phase EQ...

eflatt
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:02 pm

Re: Parametric EQ?

Post by eflatt » Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:11 pm

Palmer Eldritch wrote:
eflatt wrote:...that the EQ is "Linear"
Recently I saved a eq8 preset where all gains are left to zero.
This preset did not color the sound, is extremely transparent and totally linear.
I named it placeboEQ. :wink:
I would expect a comment like that from someone who has placebo ears..reminds me of a friend I have called "Tonedeft". Probably couldn't even tell if there is any sound present or not. Pshaw..placebo ears :mrgreen:
One good thing about music...when it hits..you feel no pain..[-Bob Marley....."Trench Town Rock"}

Post Reply