What's James Blake doing here?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
dilshan89

What's James Blake doing here?

Post by dilshan89 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:59 pm

Hey guys,

Im an ableton amateur. I was wondering if anyone could let me know how James Blake is manipulating his vocals in his song 'I mind'. The vocal line Im talking about is first introduced 18 seconds into the song, and he then sort of turns it into a bassline around 35 seconds into the song. Really would appreciate any help. I've posted a youtube link to the song below.

Thanks x

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iyb9LNLIJd0

marcoskohler

Re: What's James Blake doing here?

Post by marcoskohler » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:30 pm

He uses a TC Helion foot controller.

Komodovaran

Post by Komodovaran » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:32 pm

An outboards repitching effect that doesn't alter the tempo. You can also do this in Live with some of the warping types, but it sounds horrible.

dilshan89

Post by dilshan89 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:50 pm

Thanks for your replies guys. Yh that's what I find so strange...why does the tempo stay the same when the sample is being played at lower/higher pitches?

Anyway I can re-create this effect using Ableton/ plug ins?

Komodovaran

Post by Komodovaran » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:15 pm

Mess around with warping and transpose until it sounds good...ish.

It won't sound good. I find that warping and repitching without changing tempo butchers the sound of the sample.

oddstep

Post by oddstep » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:35 pm

if you've got sampler you could have a go at timestretching with that, create a really small loop and set an lfo to drive loop start position, set the lfo to retrigger.
you can also use grain delay as a pitch shifter... take the delay rate right down + 0 feedback. i used this to make racks for a vocalist to sing chords with, sounds evil but cool.