Question about latency

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
gr00ver

Question about latency

Post by gr00ver » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:23 pm

I am new to Ableton so please bare with me ;)

I am recording drums over a drumless track. The way I had it setup to record was to have ableton record the music playing through my headphones (loopback off itunes) as well as the inputs from the microphones on the drums.

There is part of the song that I want to redo. I erased that section of the song and am trying to re-record it. The song playback is now being sent out from Ableton rather than my iTunes and it seems as though there is this latency issue now, anything I record ends up being slightly off when I listen to it.

So is there a way to reduce the latency or adjust something to make this work right?

tl;dr, I am re-recording a section of a song but now theres a lag between my mics and the playback of the song so in ableton it sounds off.

simmerdown

Re: Question about latency

Post by simmerdown » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:31 pm

for me asio4all is essential for recordin ginto Live, i cant seem to get as low a latency with Lives internal buffer/bitrate settings....but you can try that, in preferences/audio

Tone Deft

Post by Tone Deft » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:45 pm

I recently posted this to help a user. read between the lines since you're jumping into the middle of the conversation. this is a crucial setup if you're recording from a mic and the manual glosses over this step.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 7#p1368087

I'd add that there's a punch in/punch out feature in Arrange view that you might like.

also, the higher your sample rate is the lower the latency will be but it will drive your computer harder. smaller buffer sizes also reduce latency but can lead to crackles if set too low.

hth, Monday AM, I'm a bit hazy...
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

pale1

Post by pale1 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:50 pm