transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:42 pm

hey there, i consider myself pretty resourceful, but i can't for the life of me figure out how to transfer ABSYNTH5 over to my new computer...i have tried using my installer (or copy of it from time machine) is this harder than they make it seem on the NI site, or am i missing something? anyone have any experience with this?
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

littlepig
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:48 am
Location: UK, London

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by littlepig » Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:09 pm

I sympathise with you. About a year ago I tried installing Absynth 5 on a windows7 machine and had all sorts of problems with file permissions (and I was logged on as admin).

What OS are you on?

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:58 pm

new computer...i got the lion....not digging it all that much so far. just tried migration assistant..i have an email into NI....hopefully they will help. they make it sound simple on the website.
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

kitekrazy
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by kitekrazy » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:22 pm

eddiex wrote:hey there, i consider myself pretty resourceful, but i can't for the life of me figure out how to transfer ABSYNTH5 over to my new computer...i have tried using my installer (or copy of it from time machine) is this harder than they make it seem on the NI site, or am i missing something? anyone have any experience with this?
Those updates are not full installers. You have to use the original disc which is a PITA IMO. Be sure that you uninstall from the previous machine and run the service center so there are no authorization hassles.

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:33 pm

yeah i tried to use a copy of my installer from a back up....it didn't work (although i did try to dl. an update after opening it up after my migration.)
so using my original installer off my old computer (not a copy)
install on to my new computer
then uninstall off the old computer
or uninstall first
how do i get the original installer to the new machine without an external hard drive
i have tried migration assistant, and it doesn't give you the full installer either.
i love NI....but im starting to hate them because of this. :|
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

littlepig
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:48 am
Location: UK, London

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by littlepig » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:02 pm

Can't you down load the demo version then authorise it with your serial number?

I am sure that I have done that before.

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:37 am

hmmm....i haven't tried that yet....
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:34 am

awesome!!!! thanks so much little P, that worked!!! yeah!!!
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

littlepig
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:48 am
Location: UK, London

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by littlepig » Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:24 am

Glad to help.

To be honest, when I look in the service centre on my machine it tells me that new versions are available for for a couple of the products but I am just leaving it because I think it just cause me hastle...

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by Winterpark » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:35 am

btw.... isn't it an indictment, that it takes posting on the Ableton forum to get the required help for a NI product issue....
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

Szuumm
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by Szuumm » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:28 am

Depends if the OP asked NI or posted on their forum - I certainly didn't see it over there...

Angstrom
Posts: 14623
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by Angstrom » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:03 pm

I know this is no help, but just so you know it is possible to do this on Win 7 (64) without having an issue. I guess I was lucky, or something.

All I did to 'move' my installs to a new computer was

1: install from my DVDs
2: activate using their Service Centre application
3: that was it.

of course, that's not really moving the install, they allow something like three concurrent installs.

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

am & szuumm....actually, ive never actually been on the NI forum.
one music forum is enough for me. :wink:
i did have an email into NI, and they did get back to me today....so not hating on them too too much their customer service wasn't bad....for me.
angstom, yeah i have the download version
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

JMFOne
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:37 pm

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by JMFOne » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:37 am

The whole service centre is disastrous imo. I love their products but in order to protect from theft they have made the user experience dreadful for the majority of honest customers.
15" Apple Macbook Pro, mid 2012, 2.6GHz 8GB RAM 750GB HD, Ableton Live 9.2, Virus TI Polar

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Post by eddiex » Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:55 am

yeah it has been a pain in the ass....its funny, i was more worried about transferring live and max...but it was seamless!!!!
go ABES!!!
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

Post Reply